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Environment Department Reminds Residents of Outdoor Trash Burning Ban 

 
(Santa Fe, NM) – The New Mexico Environment Department’s Air Quality Bureau reminds citizens that the state's open 
burning regulation prohibits the burning of household waste.   
 
Some residents are still burning trash outside although the regulation banning burning has been in effect since June 1, 
2004. That regulation (www.nmenv.state.nm.us/aqb) applies statewide, except for tribal lands and in Bernalillo County.   
 
“Backyard burning of trash is a major source of dioxins, benzene, metals and other highly toxic air pollutants,” said 
New Mexico Environment Department Secretary Ron Curry. “We want to make sure the burning stops so New 
Mexicans won’t have to breathe in those harmful, cancer causing toxins.” 
 
Studies show that burn barrels are a bigger source of dioxins than all the major industrial sources in New Mexico 
combined.  Dioxins and other toxins produced by burn barrels concentrate in the ash and persist in the environment for 
years.  Those cancer causing toxins accumulate in the food chain and in the human body over a lifetime. Dioxins also 
interfere with fetal development and sex hormone function. Exceptions to the open burning regulation include 
recreational and ceremonial fires, fireplaces and wood stoves, non-commercial cooking of food, warming fires at 
construction sites, and flares at oil and gas facilities. 
 
Vegetative material can be burned under the following conditions: 
1.  Vegetative material includes yard waste, weeds, slash, tree trimmings, crop stubble, rangeland and untreated wood or 
wood products.  
2.  Small burns, less than 10 acres or 1,000 cubic feet of piled material per day.  Larger burns are covered under the 
Smoke Management regulation (20.2.65 NMAC). 
3.  Vegetation burning is prohibited within 300 feet of neighboring houses and businesses.  
4.  Before burning vegetation, the burner must notify the local fire authority.  The burner must comply with 
requirements of the Open Burning regulation as well as any requirement of the local fire authority, including any 
requirement to obtain a permit from them. 
5.  Burning is limited to those hours between one hour after sunrise and one hour before sunset.   
6.  If more than 1 acre or 100 cubic feet of material is burned, notification must be provided to all neighbors within one-
fourth mile. 
 
Under state law, violations of the Open Burning regulation are a petty misdemeanor. Also, the Department may assess 
civil penalties for violations, which are a minimum of $1,000 per violation.  
 
For more information contact Marissa Stone, NMED Communications Director, at (505) 827-0314 or (505) 231-0475 or 
the Air Quality Bureau at (505) 827-1494.        


