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Air Quality Bureau 
 

MEMORANDUM 
 
DATE:  September 17, 2014  
 
TO:    All Air Quality Bureau Permitting Staff and Air Curtain Incinerator Operators 
 
FROM:   Ted Schooley, Permit Programs Manager, Air Quality Bureau 
  
SUBJECT:   Air Curtain Incinerator Air Permit Synopsis for the State of New Mexico 
 
The goal of this memo is to provide operators of above-ground, commercially manufactured Air 
Curtain Incinerators (ACI) a synopsis of air permit requirements in the State of New Mexico for ACI 
units that burn 100% wood waste, yard waste, and/or clean lumber.   
 
Owners and operators of air curtain incinerators (ACI) are advised to seek air permitting guidance 
from the Air Quality Bureau Permit Section before pursuing any particular permitting path.  For air 
permitting guidance, please contact:  
 

Liz Bisbey-Kuehn  505-476-4338  elizabeth.kuehn@state.nm.us 
 
 
For Solid Waste Bureau requirements for Air Curtain Incinerators in New Mexico, please contact 
George Schuman at (505) 827-2328 or george.schuman@state.nm.us.  A Solid Waste Bureau 
registration form for air curtain incinerators can be found at this web address: 
http://www.nmenv.state.nm.us/swb/ApplicationsRegistrationsandForms.htm 
 
 
Clean Air Act:  ACIs are considered a “solid waste incineration unit” that are subject to section 129 
of the Clean Air Act unless they meet the exemption under the Act at 129(g)(1)(C).  The AQB has 
determined that if the unit is subject to a Federal Plan Requirement in 40 CFR 62 or to a New Source 
Performance Standard (NSPS) in 40 CFR 60, a Title V permit requiring the opacity standard and 
limit on types of material combusted can be used to meet the section 129(g)(1)(C) exemption.   
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Federal Regulations:  All of the following regulations in 40 CFR 62 Subparts FFF & III and 40 
CFR 60 AAAA, CCCC, DDDD, EEEE, FFFF include requirements for Air Curtain Incinerators 
(ACI) that burn: 

(1) 100 percent wood waste, 
(2) 100 percent clean lumber, and/or 
(3) 100 percent mixture of only wood waste, clean lumber, and/or yard waste. 

 
Most of these regulations provide exemptions that allow a reduced set of requirements of these 
regulations for ACI units if a Title V permit requiring the opacity standard and a limit on the types of 
material combusted is obtained.  The AQB suggests that operators of ACI that burn 100% clean 
forest wood waste determine whether their unit is subject to one of the regulations in 40 CFR 62 or 
40 CFR 60.  The New Source Performance Standards (NSPS) EEEE (40 CFR 60, Subpart EEEE) is 
the most recent regulation that was promulgated.  These regulations typically contain specific 
notification requirements prior to start up and compliance tests within 60 days of startup. 
 
Scenario 1:  
Part 72 Pre-Construction Permit [Link to the pre-construction permit regulation 
CONSTRUCTION PERMITS]:  A pre-construction air permit is required for any ACI unit that is:  
 

a) not subject to one of the above mentioned Federal regulations;  
b) that is a below ground level trench type and not an above ground commercially manufactured 

ACI; or  
c) does not combust 100% wood waste, yard waste, and/or clean lumber 

 
If your ACI requires a pre-construction permit, a pre-construction permit must be obtained before 
installing and operating your ACI.  Construction permits take up to 120 days or more from receipt of 
a complete application and require air dispersion modeling, permit fees and public notice. 
 
Scenario 2:   
Part 70 Title V Operating Permit [Link to TV operating permit regulation OPERATING 
PERMITS]: Even if a pre-construction air permit is not required, US EPA Region 6 requires that a 
Title V Operating permit be obtained for all air curtain incinerators in order to be exempt from the 
federal law that applies to solid waste incineration units found in Section 129 of the Clean Air Act.    
 
A complete Title V permit application must be submitted to the New Mexico Air Quality Bureau 
within 12 months after the owner/operator starts operating the ACI (or within 12 months of 
commencement of operation).  Under the Title V regulations, it may take up to 20 months to receive 
the Title V Operating permit. However, these permits don’t require permit fees.  If you have 
submitted your Title V permit application within 12 months of when you started operating your ACI, 
you may continue to operate your ACI during the time it takes to obtain your Title V permit as long 
as you provide timely responses to our questions about your application (See 20.2.70.300.C(4) 
NMAC).  The Air Quality Bureau will accept a reduced application form from ACI owner/operators 
and will expedite the permitting process.  Please contact Liz Bisbey-Kuehn for assistance in 
submitting this application form. 
 

http://www.nmcpr.state.nm.us/nmac/parts/title20/20.002.0072.htm
http://www.nmcpr.state.nm.us/nmac/parts/title20/20.002.0070.htm
http://www.nmcpr.state.nm.us/nmac/parts/title20/20.002.0070.htm
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Scenario 3 
Possible Waiver from a Title V Permit: 
In our previous ACI guidance, the Air Quality Bureau said that it may be possible for an ACI 
owner/operator to obtain a waiver from US EPA from the requirement of a Title V permit.  However, 
US EPA has notified us that that is not true.  See US EPA’s October 2008 memo on our website 
regarding this matter 2008 EPA ACI TV Guidance.  The only time that US EPA will consider 
granting a waiver from the requirement of a Title V permit is if an emergency is declared in the State 
of New Mexico and the ACI is used in direct response to that emergency.   
 
Portable ACIs:  Many ACIs are portable.  The fact that an ACI is portable does not exempt it 
from any of these requirements. 
 
Compliance with federal regulations:    The federal regulations mentioned previously 
typically contain specific notification requirements that must be submitted to the Department prior 
to startup of the ACI and compliance test requirements that must be conducted within 60 days of 
startup. 
 
Multiple Owner Operators:  An ACI may have separate owners and operators.  Both the 
owner and the operator are individually subject to these regulations.  Once a permit is obtained by 
either the owner or operator, the permit will designate which is the responsible party. 
 
Conclusion:  If the owner/operator is using an above ground commercially manufactured Air 
Curtain Incinerator; determines that an NSPS applies; that it will burn only 100% wood waste, yard 
waste, and/or clean lumber; and that it meets the opacity standards of the applicable NSPS, the ACI 
may be set up and operated in accordance with the NSPS without first obtaining a pre-construction 
air permit.  The ACI owner/operator must submit a complete Title V permit application within 12 
months of commencing operations of the ACI.  
 
The New Mexico Air Quality Bureau will continue working to find an expedient path forward for 
simplifying the air permit application process and will update this guidance as this process develops. 
Therefore, please check our ACI website periodically for new information. 
 

http://www.nmenv.state.nm.us/aqb/permit/documents/EPAACITVGuideOct162008.pdf

	MEMORANDUM

