
GROUND WATER DISCHARGE PERMIT RENEWAL 
Doña Ana County – Mesquite Liquid Waste Disposal Facility, DP-539 

 
I. INTRODUCTION 
 
The New Mexico Environment Department (NMED) issues this Discharge Permit Renewal 
(Discharge Permit), DP-539, to Doña Ana County (permittee) pursuant to the New Mexico 
Water Quality Act (WQA), NMSA 1978 §§74-6-1 through 74-6-17, and the New Mexico Water 
Quality Control Commission (WQCC) Regulations, 20.6.2 NMAC. 
 
NMED's purpose in issuing this Discharge Permit, and in imposing the requirements and 
conditions specified herein, is to monitor past discharges of water contaminants from the 
Mesquite Liquid Waste Disposal Facility (facility) into ground and surface water, so as to protect 
ground and surface water for present and potential future use as domestic and agricultural water 
supply and other uses and protect public health.  In issuing this Discharge Permit, NMED has 
determined that the requirements of Subsection C of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC have been or will be 
met.  Pursuant to Section 20.6.2.3104 NMAC, it is the responsibility of the permittee to comply 
with the terms and conditions of this Discharge Permit; failure may result in an enforcement 
action(s) by NMED (20.6.2.1220 NMAC).   
 
The activities which produced the discharges, the location of the discharge, and the quantity, 
quality and flow characteristics of the discharges are briefly described as follows: 
 
This facility stopped receiving waste in July 1995 and the closure of the facility was completed 
in June 1999.  Formerly, the facility accepted septage and car wash grit trap waste for disposal in 
clay-lined impoundments.  
 
The discharges contained water contaminants or toxic pollutants which may be elevated above 
the standards of Section 20.6.2.3103 NMAC.  The facility is located at 725 CR B-059, 
approximately 2.5 miles east of Mesquite, in Section 29, T24S, R03E, Doña Ana County.  
Ground water most likely to be affected is at a depth of approximately 230 feet and has a total 
dissolved solids concentration of approximately 1,500 milligrams per liter. 
 
The original Discharge Permit was issued on March 5, 1988 and subsequently renewed on July 
1, 1993 and September 15, 1999.  The application (i.e., discharge plan) consists of the materials 
submitted by the permittee dated October 4, 2012 and materials contained in the administrative 
record prior to issuance of this Discharge Permit.  The discharge shall be managed in accordance 
with all conditions and requirements of this Discharge Permit.  
 
Pursuant to Section 20.6.2.3109 NMAC, NMED reserves the right to require a Discharge Permit 
Modification in the event NMED determines that the requirements of 20.6.2 NMAC are being or 
may be violated or the standards of Section 20.6.2.3103 NMAC are being or may be violated.  
This may include a determination that structural controls and/or management practices approved 
under this Discharge Permit are not protective of ground water quality, and that more stringent 
requirements to protect ground water quality may be required by NMED.  The permittee may be 
required to implement abatement of water pollution and remediate ground water quality. 
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Issuance of this Discharge Permit does not relieve the permittee of the responsibility to comply 
with the WQA, WQCC Regulations, and any other applicable federal, state and/or local laws and 
regulations, such as zoning requirements and nuisance ordinances. 
 
The following acronyms and abbreviations may be used in this Discharge Permit: 
 
Abbreviation Explanation  Abbreviation Explanation 
BOD5 biochemical oxygen demand (5-

day) 
 NTU nephelometric turbidity units 

CFR Code of Federal Regulations  Org organisms 
Cl chloride  TDS total dissolved solids 
EPA United States Environmental 

Protection Agency 
 TKN total Kjeldahl nitrogen 

gpd gallons per day  total nitrogen = TKN + NO3-N 
LADS land application data sheet(s)  TRC Total Residual Chlorine 
mg/L milligrams per liter  TSS total suspended solids 
mL milliliters  UPC Uniform Plumbing Code 
NMAC New Mexico Administrative 

Code  
 WQA New Mexico Water Quality Act 

NMED New Mexico Environment 
Department 

 WQCC Water Quality Control 
Commission 

NMSA New Mexico Statutes Annotated  WWTF Wastewater Treatment Facility 
NO3-N nitrate-nitrogen    
 
 
II. FINDINGS 
 
In issuing this Discharge Permit, NMED finds: 
 
1. The permittee is discharging effluent or leachate from the facility so that such effluent or 

leachate may move directly or indirectly into ground water within the meaning of Section 
20.6.2.3104 NMAC. 

 
2. The permittee is discharging effluent or leachate from the facility so that such effluent or 

leachate may move into ground water of the State of New Mexico which has an existing 
concentration of 10,000 mg/L or less of TDS within the meaning of Subsection A of 
20.6.2.3101 NMAC. 

 
3. The discharge from the facility is not subject to any of the exemptions of Section 

20.6.2.3105 NMAC. 
 
 
III. AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE 
 
Pursuant to 20.6.2.3104 NMAC, it is the responsibility of the permittee to ensure that discharges 
authorized by this Discharge Permit are consistent with the terms and conditions herein.   
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The facility stopped receiving waste in July 1995 and the closure of the facility was completed in 
June 1999.  The Discharge Permit Renewal is being issued to the permittee solely for ground 
water monitoring.  [20.6.2.3104 NMAC, Subsection C of 20.6.2.3106 NMAC, Subsection C of 
20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 
 
 
IV. CONDITIONS 
 
NMED issues this Discharge Permit for the discharge of water contaminants subject to the 
following conditions: 
 
A. OPERATIONAL PLAN 
 
# Terms and Conditions 

1.  The permittee shall implement the following operational plan to ensure compliance with 
Title 20, Chapter 6, Parts 1 and 2 NMAC.   
 
[Subsection C of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 

2.  The permittee shall operate in a manner such that standards and requirements of Sections 
20.6.2.3101 and 20.6.2.3103 NMAC are not violated.   
 
[20.6.2.3101 NMAC, 20.6.2.3103 NMAC, Subsection C of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 

 
B. MONITORING AND REPORTING 
 
# Terms and Conditions 

3.  The permittee shall conduct the following monitoring, reporting, and other requirements 
listed below in accordance with the monitoring requirements of this Discharge Permit.   
 
[Subsection A of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC, Subsection C of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 

4.  METHODOLOGY – Unless otherwise approved in writing by NMED, the permittee shall 
conduct sampling and analysis in accordance with the most recent edition of the following 
documents:   
a) American Public Health Association, Standard Methods for the Examination of Water 

and Wastewater (18th, 19th or current) 
b) U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Methods for Chemical Analysis of Water and 

Waste 
c) U.S. Geological Survey, Techniques for Water Resources Investigations of the U.S. 

Geological Survey 
d) American Society for Testing and Materials, Annual Book of ASTM Standards, Part 

31. Water 



Dona Ana County – Mesquite Liquid Waste Disposal Facility, DP-539 
[Effective Date] 
Page 4 of 10 
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e) U.S. Geological Survey, et al., National Handbook of Recommended Methods for 
Water Data Acquisition 

f) Federal Register, latest methods published for monitoring pursuant to Resource 
Conservation and Recovery Act regulations 

g) Methods of Soil Analysis: Part 1. Physical and Mineralogical Methods; Part 2. 
Microbiological and Biochemical Properties; Part 3. Chemical Methods, American 
Society of Agronomy 

 
[Subsection B of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC] 

5.  The permittee shall submit semi-annual monitoring reports to NMED for the most 
recently completed semi-annual period by the 1st of February and August of each year.   
 
Semi-annual monitoring shall be performed during the following periods and submitted as 
follows:  
• January 1st through June 30th (first half) – due by August 1st 
• July 1st through December 31st (second half) – due by February 1st 
 
[Subsection A of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC] 

 
Ground Water Monitoring Conditions 
 
# Terms and Conditions 

6.  The permittee shall perform semi-annual ground water sampling in the following 
monitoring wells and analyze the samples for dissolved TKN, NO3-N, TDS and Cl: 
• MW-1, intended to be located hydrologically upgradient and west of the closed clay-

lined ponds. 
• MW-2, intended to be located hydrologically downgradient and south of the closed 

clay-lined ponds. 
• MW-3, intended to be located hydrologically downgradient and south of the 

abandoned landfill located at the facility. 
 
Ground water sample collection, preservation, transport and analysis shall be performed 
according to the following procedure:   
a) Measure the depth-to-most-shallow ground water from the top of the well casing to 

the nearest hundredth of a foot. 
b) Purge three well volumes of water from the well prior to sample collection. 
c) Obtain samples from the well for analysis. 
d) Properly prepare, preserve and transport samples. 
e) Analyze samples in accordance with the methods authorized in this Discharge Permit. 
 
Depth-to-most-shallow ground water measurements, analytical results, including the 
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# Terms and Conditions 

laboratory QA/QC summary report, and a facility layout map showing the location and 
number of each well shall be submitted to NMED in the semi-annual monitoring reports.   
 
[Subsection A of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC] 

 
C. CONTINGENCY PLAN 
 
# Terms and Conditions 

7.  In the event that ground water monitoring indicates that a ground water quality standard 
identified in Section 20.6.2.3103 NMAC continues to be exceeded or a toxic pollutant 
(defined in subsection WW of 20.6.2.7 NMAC) is present in a ground water sample, the 
permittee may be required to abate water pollution pursuant to Sections 20.6.2.4000 
through 20.6.2.4115 NMAC, upon notification by NMED. 
 
[Subsection A of 20.6.2.4106 NMAC] 

8.  In the event that NMED or the permittee identifies any failures of the discharge plan or 
this Discharge Permit not specifically noted herein, NMED may require the permittee to 
submit a corrective action plan and a schedule for completion of corrective actions to 
address the failure(s).  Additionally, NMED may require a Discharge Permit modification 
to achieve compliance with 20.6.2 NMAC.   
 
[Subsection A of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC, Subsection E of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 

 
D. CLOSURE PLAN 
 
Permanent Facility Closure Conditions 
 
# Terms and Conditions 

9.  The permittee shall perform the following closure measures: 
 
The permittee shall continue ground water monitoring until the requirements of this 
condition have been met and ground water monitoring confirms for a minimum of two 
years of consecutive ground water sampling events that the standards of Section 
20.6.2.3103 NMAC are not exceeded.  
 
If monitoring results show that a ground water quality standard(s) in Section 20.6.2.3103 
NMAC continue to be exceeded, the permittee may be required to submit a corrective 
action plan or abate ground water pollution pursuant to Sections 20.6.2.4000 through 
20.6.2.4115 NMAC. 
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# Terms and Conditions 

Following notification from NMED that post-closure monitoring may cease, the permittee 
shall plug and abandon the monitoring wells in accordance with the attachment titled 
Ground Water Discharge Permit Monitoring Well Construction and Abandonment 
Conditions, Revision 1.1, March 2011. 
 
When all closure and post-closure requirements have been met, the permittee may submit 
a written request for termination of the Discharge Permit to NMED.  
 
[Subsection A of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC, 40 CFR Part 503] 

 
E. GENERAL TERMS AND CONDITIONS 
 
# Terms and Conditions 

10.  RECORD KEEPING - The permittee shall maintain a written record of the following 
information:  
a) Information and data used to complete the application for this Discharge Permit.  
b) Records of any releases (commonly known as “spills”) not authorized under this 

Discharge Permit and reports submitted pursuant to 20.6.2.1203 NMAC. 
c) Records of the operation, maintenance, and repair of all facilities/equipment used to 

treat, store or dispose of wastewater. 
d) Facility record drawings (plans and specifications) showing the actual construction of 

the facility and bear the seal and signature of a licensed New Mexico professional 
engineer. 

e) Copies of monitoring reports completed and/or submitted to NMED pursuant to this 
Discharge Permit. 

f) The volume of wastewater or other wastes discharged pursuant to this Discharge 
Permit. 

g) Ground water quality and wastewater quality data collected pursuant to this 
Discharge Permit. 

h) Copies of construction records (well log) for all ground water monitoring wells 
required to be sampled pursuant to this Discharge Permit. 

i) Records of the maintenance, repair, replacement or calibration of any monitoring 
equipment or flow measurement devices required by this Discharge Permit.  

j) Data and information related to field measurements, sampling, and analysis 
conducted pursuant to this Discharge Permit.  The following information shall be 
recorded and shall be made available to NMED upon request: 
i) The dates, location and times of sampling or field measurements; 
ii) The name and job title of the individuals who performed each sample collection 

or field measurement; 
iii) The sample analysis date of each sample; 
iv) The name and address of the laboratory, and the name of the signatory authority 

for the laboratory analysis; 
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# Terms and Conditions 

v) The analytical technique or method used to analyze each sample or collect each 
field measurement; 

vi) The results of each analysis or field measurement, including raw data; 
vii) The results of any split, spiked, duplicate or repeat sample; and 
viii) A copy of the laboratory analysis chain-of-custody as well as a description of 

the quality assurance and quality control procedures used. 
 

The written record shall be maintained by the permittee at a location accessible during a 
facility inspection by NMED for a period of at least five years from the date of 
application, report, collection or measurement and shall be made available to the 
department upon request. 
 
[Subsections A and D of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC] 

11.  INSPECTION and ENTRY – The permittee shall allow inspection by NMED of the 
facility and its operations which are subject to this Discharge Permit and the WQCC 
regulations.  NMED may upon presentation of proper credentials, enter at reasonable 
times upon or through any premises in which a water contaminant source is located or in 
which are located any records required to be maintained by regulations of the federal 
government or the WQCC. 
 
The permittee shall allow NMED to have access to and reproduce for their use any copy 
of the records, and to perform assessments, sampling or monitoring during an inspection 
for the purpose of evaluating compliance with this Discharge Permit and the WQCC 
regulations.   
 
Nothing in this Discharge Permit shall be construed as limiting in any way the inspection 
and entry authority of NMED under the WQA, the WQCC Regulations, or any other 
local, state or federal regulations. 
 
[Subsection D of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC, NMSA 1978, §§ 74-6-9.B and 74-6-9.E] 

12.  DUTY to PROVIDE INFORMATION - The permittee shall, upon NMED’s request, 
allow NMED’s inspection/duplication of records required by this Discharge Permit and/or 
furnish to NMED copies of such records.  
 
[Subsection D of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC] 

13.  MODIFICATIONS and/or AMENDMENTS – In the event the permittee proposes a 
change to the facility or the facility’s discharge that would result in a change in the 
volume discharged; the location of the discharge;  or in the amount or character of water 
contaminants received, treated or discharged by the facility, the permittee shall notify 
NMED prior to implementing such changes.  The permittee shall obtain approval (which 
may require modification of this Discharge Permit) by NMED prior to implementing such 
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# Terms and Conditions 

changes.  
 
[Subsection C of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC, Subsections E and G of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 

14.  PLANS and SPECIFICATIONS – In the event the permittee is proposing to construct a 
wastewater system or change a process unit of an existing system such that the quantity or 
quality of the discharge will change substantially from that authorized by this Discharge 
Permit, the permittee shall submit construction plans and specifications to NMED for the 
proposed system or process unit prior to the commencement of construction. 
 
In the event the permittee implements changes to the wastewater system authorized by 
this Discharge Permit which result in only a minor effect on the character of the 
discharge, the permittee shall report such changes (including the submission of record 
drawings, where applicable) as of January 1 and June 30 of each year to NMED.   
 
[Subsections A and C of 20.6.2.1202 NMAC, NMSA 1978, §§ 61-23-1 through 61-23-
32] 

15.  CIVIL PENALTIES - Any violation of the requirements and conditions of this Discharge 
Permit, including any failure to allow NMED staff to enter and inspect records or 
facilities, or any refusal or failure to provide NMED with records or information, may 
subject the permittee to a civil enforcement action.  Pursuant to WQA 74-6-10(A) and 
(B), such action may include a compliance order requiring compliance immediately or in 
a specified time, assessing a civil penalty, modifying or terminating the Discharge Permit, 
or any combination of the foregoing; or an action in district court seeking injunctive 
relief, civil penalties, or both.  Pursuant to WQA 74-6-10(C) and 74-6-10.1, civil penalties 
of up to $15,000 per day of noncompliance may be assessed for each violation of the 
WQA 74-6-5, the WQCC Regulations, or this Discharge Permit, and civil penalties of up 
to $10,000 per day of noncompliance may be assessed for each violation of any other 
provision of the WQA, or any regulation, standard, or order adopted pursuant to such 
other provision.  In any action to enforce this Discharge Permit, the permittee waives any 
objection to the admissibility as evidence of any data generated pursuant to this Discharge 
Permit.   
 
[20.6.2.1220 NMAC, NMSA 1978, §§ 74-6-10 and 74-6-10.1]  

16.  CRIMINAL PENALTIES – No person shall: 
1) make any false material statement, representation, certification or omission of 

material fact in an application, record, report, plan or other document filed, submitted 
or required to be maintained under the WQA;  

2) falsify, tamper with or render inaccurate any monitoring device, method or record 
required to be maintained under the WQA; or 

3) fail to monitor, sample or report as required by a permit issued pursuant to a state or 
federal law or regulation. 



Dona Ana County – Mesquite Liquid Waste Disposal Facility, DP-539 
[Effective Date] 
Page 9 of 10 
 
# Terms and Conditions 

 
Any person who knowingly violates or knowingly causes or allows another person to 
violate the requirements of this condition is guilty of a fourth degree felony and shall be 
sentenced in accordance with the provisions of NMSA 1978, § 31-18-15.  Any person 
who is convicted of a second or subsequent violation of the requirements of this condition 
is guilty of a third degree felony and shall be sentenced in accordance with the provisions 
of NMSA 1978, § 31-18-15.  Any person who knowingly violates the requirements of this 
condition or knowingly causes another person to violate the requirements of this condition 
and thereby causes a substantial adverse environmental impact is guilty of a third degree 
felony and shall be sentenced in accordance with the provisions of NMSA 1978, § 31-18-
15.  Any person who knowingly violates the requirements of this condition and knows at 
the time of the violation that he is creating a substantial danger of death or serious bodily 
injury to any other person is guilty of a second degree felony and shall be sentenced in 
accordance with the provisions of NMSA 1978, § 31-18-15.   
 
[20.6.2.1220 NMAC, NMSA 1978, §§ 74-6-10.2.A through 74-6-10.2.F] 

17.  COMPLIANCE with OTHER LAWS - Nothing in this Discharge Permit shall be 
construed in any way as relieving the permittee of the obligation to comply with all 
applicable federal, state, and local laws, regulations, permits or orders.   
 
[NMSA 1978, § 74-6-5.L] 

18.  RIGHT to APPEAL - The permittee may file a petition for review before the WQCC on 
this Discharge Permit.  Such petition shall be in writing to the WQCC within thirty days 
of the receipt of postal notice of this Discharge Permit and shall include a statement of the 
issues to be raised and the relief sought.  Unless a timely petition for review is made, the 
decision of NMED shall be final and not subject to judicial review.   
 
[20.6.2.3112 NMAC, NMSA 1978, § 74-6-5.O] 

19.  TRANSFER of DISCHARGE PERMIT - Prior to the transfer of any ownership, control, 
or possession of this facility or any portion thereof, the permittee shall:  
1) notify the proposed transferee in writing of the existence of this Discharge Permit;  
2) include a copy of this Discharge Permit with the notice; and  
3) deliver or send by certified mail to NMED a copy of the notification and proof that 

such notification has been received by the proposed transferee.   
 
Until both ownership and possession of the facility have been transferred to the transferee, 
the permittee shall continue to be responsible for any discharge from the facility. 
 
[20.6.2.3111 NMAC] 

20.  PERMIT FEES - Payment of permit fees is due at the time of Discharge Permit approval.  
Permit fees shall be paid in a single payment or shall be paid in equal installments on a 
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# Terms and Conditions 

yearly basis over the term of the Discharge Permit.  Single payments shall be remitted to 
NMED no later than 30 days after the Discharge Permit effective date.  Initial installment 
payments shall be remitted to NMED no later than 30 days after the Discharge Permit 
effective date; subsequent installment payments shall be remitted to NMED no later than 
the anniversary of the Discharge Permit effective date.   
 
Permit fees are associated with issuance of this Discharge Permit.  Nothing in this 
Discharge Permit shall be construed as relieving the permittee of the obligation to pay all 
permit fees assessed by NMED.  A permittee that ceases discharging or does not 
commence discharging from the facility during the term of the Discharge Permit shall pay 
all permit fees assessed by NMED.  An approved Discharge Permit shall be suspended or 
terminated if the facility fails to remit an installment payment by its due date. 
 
[Subsection F of 20.6.2.3114 NMAC, NMSA 1978, § 74-6-5.K] 

 
 
V. PERMIT TERM & SIGNATURE  
 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  [effective date]   
TERM ENDS:  [expiration date]  
 
[Subsection H of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC, NMSA 1978, § 74-6-5.I] 
 
 
 
 
________________________________ 
JERRY SCHOEPPNER 
Chief, Ground Water Quality Bureau 
New Mexico Environment Department 
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