
GROUND WATER DISCHARGE PERMIT RENEWAL 
Sierra County Collection Center-Septage Disposal Facility, DP-800 

 
I. INTRODUCTION 
 
The New Mexico Environment Department (NMED) issues this Discharge Permit Renewal 
(Discharge Permit), DP-800, to the County of Sierra (permittee) pursuant to the New Mexico 
Water Quality Act (WQA), NMSA 1978 §§74-6-1 through 74-6-17, and the New Mexico Water 
Quality Control Commission (WQCC) Regulations, 20.6.2 NMAC. 
 
NMED's purpose in issuing this Discharge Permit, and in imposing the requirements and 
conditions specified herein, is to control the discharge of water contaminants from Sierra County 
Collection Center-Septage Disposal Facility (facility) into ground and surface water, so as to 
protect ground and surface water for present and potential future use as domestic and agricultural 
water supply and other uses and protect public health.  In issuing this Discharge Permit, NMED 
has determined that the requirements of Subsection C of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC have been or will 
be met.  Pursuant to Section 20.6.2.3104 NMAC, it is the responsibility of the permittee to 
comply with the terms and conditions of this Discharge Permit; failure may result in an 
enforcement action(s) by NMED (20.6.2.1220 NMAC).   
 
The activities which produce the discharge, the location of the discharge, and the quantity, 
quality and flow characteristics of the discharge are briefly described as follows: 
 
Up to 9,999 gallons per day (gpd) of domestic septage (including portable toilet waste) is 
discharged to two synthetically lined impoundments for disposal by evaporation.  
 
The discharge contains water contaminants which may be elevated above the standards of 
Section 20.6.2.3103 NMAC and/or the presence of toxic pollutants as defined in Subsection WW 
of 20.6.2.7 NMAC.   
 
The facility is located along New Mexico Highway 52 at the entrance to the Sierra County 
Collection Center, approximately 6.5 miles northwest of Truth or Consequences, in Section 19, 
T12S, R04W, Sierra County.  Ground water most likely to be affected is at a depth of 
approximately 450 feet and has a total dissolved solids concentration of approximately 340 
milligrams per liter. 
 
The original Discharge Permit was issued on August 27, 1991 and subsequently renewed on July 
13, 2000, and renewed and modified on November 30, 2005.  The application (i.e., discharge 
plan) consists of the materials submitted by the permittee on November 18, 2010 and materials 
contained in the administrative record prior to issuance of this Discharge Permit.  The discharge 
shall be managed in accordance with all conditions and requirements of this Discharge Permit.  
 
Pursuant to Section 20.6.2.3109 NMAC, NMED reserves the right to require a Discharge Permit 
Modification in the event NMED determines that the requirements of 20.6.2 NMAC are being or 
may be violated or the standards of Section 20.6.2.3103 NMAC are being or may be violated.  
This may include a determination that structural controls and/or management practices approved 
under this Discharge Permit are not protective of ground water quality, and that more stringent 
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requirements to protect ground water quality may be required by NMED.  The permittee may be 
required to implement abatement of water pollution and remediate ground water quality. 
 
Issuance of this Discharge Permit does not relieve the permittee of the responsibility to comply 
with the WQA, WQCC Regulations, and any other applicable federal, state and/or local laws and 
regulations, such as zoning requirements and nuisance ordinances. 
 
The following acronyms and abbreviations may be used in this Discharge Permit: 
 
Abbreviation Explanation  Abbreviation Explanation 
BOD5 biochemical oxygen demand (5-

day) 
 NTU nephelometric turbidity units 

CFR Code of Federal Regulations  Org organisms 
Cl chloride  TDS total dissolved solids 
EPA United States Environmental 

Protection Agency 
 TKN total Kjeldahl nitrogen 

gpd gallons per day  total nitrogen = TKN + NO3-N 
LADS land application data sheet(s)  TRC Total Residual Chlorine 
mg/L milligrams per liter  TSS total suspended solids 
mL milliliters  UPC Uniform Plumbing Code 
NMAC New Mexico Administrative 

Code  
 WQA New Mexico Water Quality Act 

NMED New Mexico Environment 
Department 

 WQCC Water Quality Control 
Commission 

NMSA New Mexico Statutes Annotated  WWTF Wastewater Treatment Facility 
NO3-N nitrate-nitrogen    
 
 
II. FINDINGS 
 
In issuing this Discharge Permit, NMED finds: 
 
1. The permittee is discharging effluent or leachate from the facility so that such effluent or 

leachate may move directly or indirectly into ground water within the meaning of Section 
20.6.2.3104 NMAC. 

 
2. The permittee is discharging effluent or leachate from the facility so that such effluent or 

leachate may move into ground water of the State of New Mexico which has an existing 
concentration of 10,000 mg/L or less of TDS within the meaning of Subsection A of 
20.6.2.3101 NMAC. 

 
3. The discharge from the facility is not subject to any of the exemptions of Section 

20.6.2.3105 NMAC. 
 
 
 



Sierra County Collection Center-Septage Disposal Facility, DP-800 
[Effective Date] 
Page 3 of 15 
 
III. AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE 
 
Pursuant to 20.6.2.3104 NMAC, it is the responsibility of the permittee to ensure that discharges 
authorized by this Discharge Permit are consistent with the terms and conditions herein.   
 
The permittee is authorized to discharge up to 9,999 gpd of domestic septage (including portable 
toilet waste) to two synthetically lined impoundments for disposal by evaporation.  The 
discharge of waste types other than domestic septage is prohibited at this facility. [20.6.2.3104 
NMAC, Subsection C of 20.6.2.3106 NMAC, Subsection C of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 
 
 
IV. CONDITIONS 
 
NMED issues this Discharge Permit for the discharge of water contaminants subject to the 
following conditions: 
 
A. OPERATIONAL PLAN 
 
# Terms and Conditions 

1.  The permittee shall implement the following operational plan to ensure compliance with 
Title 20, Chapter 6, Parts 1 and 2 NMAC.   
 
[Subsection C of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 

2.  The permittee shall operate in a manner such that standards and requirements of Sections 
20.6.2.3101 and 20.6.2.3103 NMAC are not violated.   
 
[20.6.2.3101 NMAC, 20.6.2.3103 NMAC, Subsection C of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 

 
Operational Actions with Implementation Deadlines 
 
# Terms and Conditions 

3.  Within 60 days following the effective date of this Discharge Permit (by DATE), the 
permittee shall measure the thickness of the settled solids in the two synthetically lined 
impoundments and report the results of the solids depth measurements to NMED. 
 
The permittee shall measure the thickness of settled solids in accordance with the 
following procedure. 
a) The total surface area of the treatment impoundment shall be divided into nine equal 

sub-areas. 
b) A settled solids measurement device (core sampler) shall be utilized to obtain one 

settled solids thickness measurement (to the nearest half-foot) per sub-area.  
c) The nine settled solids measurements shall be averaged. 
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# Terms and Conditions 

 
In the event the average solids accumulation exceeds 75% of the maximum liquid depth 
in the impoundment(s), below the two feet of freeboard, the permittee shall propose a plan 
for the removal and disposal of the solids from the treatment impoundment(s).  The solids 
removal and disposal plan shall be submitted to NMED for approval within 120 days 
following the effective date of this Discharge Permit (by DATE), and shall include the 
following: 
a) A method for removal of the solids to a depth of less than six inches throughout the 

treatment impoundment in a manner that is protective of the impoundment liner. 
b) A description of how the solids will be contained, transported, and disposed of in 

accordance with all local, state, and federal regulations, including 40 CFR Part 503. 
c) A schedule for completion of the solids removal and disposal project. 
 
The permittee shall initiate implementation of the plan following approval by NMED. 
 
[Subsection A of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC, Subsection C of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 

 
Operating Conditions 
 
# Terms and Conditions 

4.  The permittee shall maintain fences around the entire facility to prevent unrestricted 
access.  A minimum of a three-strand barbed wire fence and locked gate shall surround 
the facility.  Fencing and gate shall be maintained throughout the term of this Discharge 
Permit.   
 
 [Subsections B and C of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC, NMSA 1978, § 74-6-5.D] 

5.  The permittee shall maintain the following signs at the following locations: 
 
• Signs in both English and Spanish that state: "Notice: Waste Disposal Area - KEEP 

OUT” and “Aviso: Área de Disposición - NO ENTAR” posted at the facility entrance 
and every 500 feet along the facility boundary. 

• A sign with the name of the permittee, office phone number of the permittee’s contact 
person, emergency contact phone number for the facility, and physical location of 
facility including township, range, and sections posted at the entrance gate.  

 
All signs shall remain legible for the term of this Discharge Permit.  
  
[Subsections B and C of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC, NMSA 1978, § 74-6-5.D] 

6.  The permittee shall maintain the impoundment liners in such a manner as to avoid 
conditions which could affect the structural integrity of the impoundments and/or 
impoundment liners.  Such conditions include or may be characterized by the following:  
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# Terms and Conditions 

• erosion damage; 
• animal burrows or other damage; 
• the presence of vegetation including aquatic plants, weeds, woody shrubs or trees 

growing within five feet of the top inside edge of a sub-grade impoundment, within 
five feet of the toe of the outside berm of an above-grade impoundment, or within the 
impoundment itself; 

• the presence of large debris or large quantities of debris in the impoundment; 
• evidence of seepage; and 
• evidence of berm subsidence. 
 
Vegetation growing around each impoundment shall be routinely controlled by 
mechanical removal in a manner that is protective of the impoundment liner.   
 
The permittee shall visually inspect the impoundments and surrounding berms on a 
monthly basis to ensure proper maintenance.  In the event that inspection reveals any 
evidence of damage that threatens the structural integrity of an impoundment berm or 
liner, or that may result in an unauthorized discharge, the permittee shall enact the 
contingency plan set forth in this Discharge Permit. 
 
[Subsection A of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC, Subsection C of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 

7.  The permittee shall preserve a minimum of two feet of freeboard between the liquid level 
in the impoundments and the elevation of the top of the impoundment liner.  In the event 
that the permittee determines that two feet of freeboard cannot be preserved in the 
impoundments, the permittee shall enact the contingency plan set forth in this Discharge 
Permit.   
 
[Subsection A of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC, Subsection C of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 

8.  The permittee shall inspect the facility weekly and collect any residual solid waste (trash) 
on the facility site.  The collected materials shall be disposed of in a manner consistent 
with all local, state and federal regulations.   
 
[20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 

9.  The permittee shall create a manifest for each waste load hauled and discharged to this 
facility.  The manifest shall record the following information: 
 
• name of the hauling company; 
• date of receipt; 
• name and address of the waste origin; 
• type of waste (domestic septage or portable toilet waste); 
• volume of waste; 
• confirmation of inspection for acceptable waste type; 
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# Terms and Conditions 

• signature of person conducting the inspection; and 
• impoundment identification (north or south) where the waste is discharged. 
 
Manifests shall be kept at the Sierra County Office and made available for inspection by 
NMED upon request. 
 
[20.6.2.3107 NMAC] 

 
B. MONITORING AND REPORTING 
 
# Terms and Conditions 

10.  The permittee shall conduct the following monitoring, reporting, and other requirements 
listed below in accordance with the monitoring requirements of this Discharge Permit.   
 
[Subsection A of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC, Subsection C of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 

11.  METHODOLOGY – Unless otherwise approved in writing by NMED, the permittee shall 
conduct sampling and analysis in accordance with the most recent edition of the following 
documents:   
a) American Public Health Association, Standard Methods for the Examination of Water 

and Wastewater (18th, 19th or current) 
b) U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Methods for Chemical Analysis of Water and 

Waste 
c) U.S. Geological Survey, Techniques for Water Resources Investigations of the U.S. 

Geological Survey 
d) American Society for Testing and Materials, Annual Book of ASTM Standards, Part 

31. Water 
e) U.S. Geological Survey, et al., National Handbook of Recommended Methods for 

Water Data Acquisition 
f) Federal Register, latest methods published for monitoring pursuant to Resource 

Conservation and Recovery Act regulations 
g) Methods of Soil Analysis: Part 1. Physical and Mineralogical Methods; Part 2. 

Microbiological and Biochemical Properties; Part 3. Chemical Methods, American 
Society of Agronomy 

 
[Subsection B of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC] 

12.  The permittee shall submit semi-annual monitoring reports to NMED by the 1st of 
February and August of each year.   
 
Semi-annual monitoring shall be performed during the following periods and submitted as 
follows:  
 



Sierra County Collection Center-Septage Disposal Facility, DP-800 
[Effective Date] 
Page 7 of 15 
 
# Terms and Conditions 

• January 1st through June 30th (first half) – due by August 1st 
• July 1st through December 31st (second half) – due by February 1st 
 
[Subsection A of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC] 

 
Facility Monitoring Conditions 
 
# Terms and Conditions 

13.  The permittee shall maintain a monthly log detailing waste received.  The log shall 
include the following information: 
 
• date of receipt; 
• origin of waste; 
• waste type; 
• volume of waste; and 
• initials of person conducting waste confirmation inspection. 
 
Copies of the monthly log shall be submitted to NMED with the semi-annual monitoring 
report.   
 
[20.6.2.3107 NMAC] 

14.  The permittee shall collect a composite wastewater sample on a semi-annual basis (once 
every six months) from a representative location within the northern synthetically lined 
impoundment and the southern synthetically lined impoundment on an alternating basis.  
The composite sample shall consist of a minimum of six equal aliquots collected around 
the entire perimeter of the evaporative impoundment and thoroughly mixed.  The 
composite sample shall be analyzed for TKN, NO3-N, TDS and Cl.  Samples shall be 
properly prepared, preserved, transported and analyzed in accordance with the methods 
authorized in this Discharge Permit.  Analytical results shall be submitted to NMED in 
the semi-annual monitoring reports.   
 
[Subsection A of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC, Subsections C and H of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 

 
C. CONTINGENCY PLAN 
 
# Terms and Conditions 

15.  In the event that a ground water quality standard identified in Section 20.6.2.3103 NMAC 
is exceeded; the total nitrogen concentration in ground water is greater than 10 mg/L; or a 
toxic pollutant (defined in Subsection WW of 20.6.2.7 NMAC) is present in ground water 
during the term of this Discharge Permit, upon closure of the facility or during the 
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# Terms and Conditions 

implementation of post-closure requirements, the permittee shall propose measures to 
mitigate damage from the discharge including, at a minimum, source control measures 
and a completion schedule by submitting a corrective action plan to NMED for approval.  
The permittee may be required to abate water pollution pursuant to Sections 20.6.2.4000 
through 20.6.2.4115 NMAC, should the corrective action plan not result in compliance 
with the standards and requirements set forth in Section 20.6.2.4103 NMAC within 180 
days of confirmation of ground water contamination.   
 
[Subsection A of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC, Subsection E of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 

16.  In the event that inspection findings reveal significant damage likely to affect the 
structural integrity of the lined impoundment(s) or its ability to contain contaminants, the 
permittee shall propose the repair or replacement of the impoundment liner(s) by 
submitting a corrective action plan to NMED for approval.  The plan shall be submitted to 
NMED within 30 days after discovery by the permittee or following notification from 
NMED that significant liner damage is evident.  The corrective action plan shall include a 
schedule for completion of corrective actions and the permittee shall initiate 
implementation of the plan following approval by NMED.   
 
[Subsection A of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC, Subsection C of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 

17.  In the event that a minimum of two feet of freeboard cannot be preserved in the 
impoundment(s), the permittee shall take actions authorized by this Discharge Permit and 
all applicable local, state, and federal regulations to restore the required freeboard. 
 
In the event that two feet of freeboard cannot be restored within a period of 72 hours 
following discovery, the permittee shall propose actions to be immediately implemented 
to restore two feet of freeboard by submitting a short-term corrective action plan to 
NMED for approval.  Examples of short-term corrective actions include: removing excess 
wastewater from the impoundment through pumping and hauling; or reducing the volume 
of wastewater discharged to the impoundment.  The plan shall include a schedule for 
completion of corrective actions and shall be submitted within 15 days following the date 
when the two feet of freeboard limit was initially discovered.  The permittee shall initiate 
implementation of the plan following approval by NMED. 
 
In the event that the short-term corrective actions failed to restore two feet of freeboard, 
the permittee shall propose permanent corrective actions in a long-term corrective action 
plan submitted to NMED within 90 days following failure of the short-term corrective 
action plan.  Examples include: the installation of an additional storage impoundment, or 
a significant/permanent reduction in the volume of wastewater discharged to the 
impoundment.  The plan shall include a schedule for completion of corrective actions and 
implementation of the plan shall be initiated following approval by NMED. 
 
[Subsection A of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC] 
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# Terms and Conditions 

18.  In the event that a release (commonly known as a “spill”) occurs that is not authorized 
under this Discharge Permit, the permittee shall take measures to mitigate damage from 
the unauthorized discharge and initiate the notifications and corrective actions required in 
Section 20.6.2.1203 NMAC and summarized below.   
 
Within 24 hours following discovery of the unauthorized discharge, the permittee shall 
verbally notify NMED and provide the following information: 
a) The name, address, and telephone number of the person or persons in charge of the 

facility, as well as of the owner and/or operator of the facility. 
b) The name and address of the facility. 
c) The date, time, location, and duration of the unauthorized discharge. 
d) The source and cause of unauthorized discharge. 
e) A description of the unauthorized discharge, including its estimated chemical 

composition. 
f) The estimated volume of the unauthorized discharge. 
g) Any actions taken to mitigate immediate damage from the unauthorized discharge. 
 
Within one week following discovery of the unauthorized discharge, the permittee shall 
submit written notification to NMED with the information listed above and any pertinent 
updates. 
 
Within 15 days following discovery of the unauthorized discharge, the permittee shall 
submit a corrective action report/plan to NMED describing any corrective actions taken 
and/or to be taken relative to the unauthorized discharge that includes the following: 
a) A description of proposed actions to mitigate damage from the unauthorized 

discharge. 
b) A description of proposed actions to prevent future unauthorized discharges of this 

nature. 
c) A schedule for completion of proposed actions. 
 
In the event that the unauthorized discharge causes or may with reasonable probability 
cause water pollution in excess of the standards and requirements of Section 20.6.2.4103 
NMAC, and the water pollution will not be abated within 180 days after notice is required 
to be given pursuant to Paragraph (1) of Subsection A of 20.6.2.1203 NMAC, the 
permittee may be required to abate water pollution pursuant to Sections 20.6.2.4000 
through 20.6.2.4115 NMAC.   
 
Nothing in this condition shall be construed as relieving the permittee of the obligation to 
comply with all requirements of Section 20.6.2.1203 NMAC. 
 
[20.6.2.1203 NMAC] 

19.  In the event that NMED or the permittee identifies any failures of the discharge plan or 
this Discharge Permit not specifically noted herein, NMED may require the permittee to 
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# Terms and Conditions 

submit a corrective action plan and a schedule for completion of corrective actions to 
address the failure(s).  Additionally, NMED may require a Discharge Permit modification 
to achieve compliance with 20.6.2 NMAC.   
 
[Subsection A of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC, Subsection E of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 

 
D. CLOSURE PLAN 
 
Permanent Facility Closure Conditions 
 
# Terms and Conditions 

20.  In the event the facility is proposed to be permanently closed, upon ceasing discharging, 
the permittee shall perform the following closure measures: 
 
Within 60 days of ceasing discharging to the impoundment system, wastewater shall be 
drained from the impoundments and be disposed of in accordance with all local, state, and 
federal regulations or disposed of by evaporation. 
 
Within 90 days of ceasing discharging to the impoundments, the permittee shall submit a 
solids removal and disposal plan to NMED for approval.  The permittee shall initiate 
implementation of the plan within 30 days following approval by NMED.  The solids 
removal and disposal plan shall include the following: 
a) The estimated volume and dry weight of solids to be removed and disposed, including 

measurements and calculations. 
b) Analytical results for samples of the solids taken from the impoundment for TKN, 

NO3-N, percent total solids, and any other parameters tested (reported in mg/kg, dry 
weight basis). 

c) The method of solids removal from the impoundments. 
d) The method of disposal of the solids removed from the impoundments.  The method 

shall comply with all local, state and federal regulations, including 40 CFR Part 503.  
Note: A proposal that includes the surface disposal of solids may be subject to 
Ground Water Discharge Permitting requirements pursuant to 20.6.2.3104 NMAC 
that are separate from the requirements of this Discharge Permit. 

e) A schedule for completion of solids removal and disposal not to exceed two years 
from the date discharge to the impoundments ceased. 

 
Within one year following completion of the solids removal and disposal, the permittee 
shall complete the following closure measures: 
a) Perforate or remove the impoundment liners. 
b)  Fill the impoundments with suitable fill. 
c) Re-grade the impoundments site to blend with surface topography, promote positive 

drainage and prevent ponding. 
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# Terms and Conditions 

 
When all closure and post-closure requirements have been met, the permittee may submit 
a written request for termination of the Discharge Permit to NMED.  
 
[Subsection A of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC, 40 CFR Part 503] 

 
E. GENERAL TERMS AND CONDITIONS 
 
# Terms and Conditions 

21.  RECORD KEEPING - The permittee shall maintain a written record of the following 
information:  
 
a) Information and data used to complete the application for this Discharge Permit.  
b) Records of any releases (commonly known as “spills”) not authorized under this 

Discharge Permit and reports submitted pursuant to 20.6.2.1203 NMAC. 
c) Records of the operation, maintenance, and repair of all facilities/equipment used to 

treat, store or dispose of wastewater. 
d) Facility record drawings (plans and specifications) showing the actual construction of 

the facility and bear the seal and signature of a licensed New Mexico professional 
engineer. 

e) Copies of monitoring reports completed and/or submitted to NMED pursuant to this 
Discharge Permit. 

f) The volume of wastewater or other wastes discharged pursuant to this Discharge 
Permit. 

g) Ground water quality and wastewater quality data collected pursuant to this 
Discharge Permit. 

h) Copies of construction records (well log) for all ground water monitoring wells 
required to be sampled pursuant to this Discharge Permit. 

i) Records of the maintenance, repair, replacement or calibration of any monitoring 
equipment or flow measurement devices required by this Discharge Permit.  

j) Data and information related to field measurements, sampling, and analysis 
conducted pursuant to this Discharge Permit.  The following information shall be 
recorded and shall be made available to NMED upon request: 
i) The dates, location and times of sampling or field measurements; 
ii) The name and job title of the individuals who performed each sample collection 

or field measurement; 
iii) The sample analysis date of each sample; 
iv) The name and address of the laboratory, and the name of the signatory authority 

for the laboratory analysis; 
v) The analytical technique or method used to analyze each sample or collect each 

field measurement; 
vi) The results of each analysis or field measurement, including raw data; 
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# Terms and Conditions 

vii) The results of any split, spiked, duplicate or repeat sample; and 
viii) A copy of the laboratory analysis chain-of-custody as well as a description of 

the quality assurance and quality control procedures used. 
 

The written record shall be maintained by the permittee at a location accessible during a 
facility inspection by NMED for a period of at least five years from the date of 
application, report, collection or measurement and shall be made available to the 
department upon request. 
 
[Subsections A and D of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC] 

22.  INSPECTION and ENTRY – The permittee shall allow inspection by NMED of the 
facility and its operations which are subject to this Discharge Permit and the WQCC 
regulations.  NMED may upon presentation of proper credentials, enter at reasonable 
times upon or through any premises in which a water contaminant source is located or in 
which are located any records required to be maintained by regulations of the federal 
government or the WQCC. 
 
The permittee shall allow NMED to have access to and reproduce for their use any copy 
of the records, and to perform assessments, sampling or monitoring during an inspection 
for the purpose of evaluating compliance with this Discharge Permit and the WQCC 
regulations.   
 
Nothing in this Discharge Permit shall be construed as limiting in any way the inspection 
and entry authority of NMED under the WQA, the WQCC Regulations, or any other 
local, state or federal regulations. 
 
[Subsection D of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC, NMSA 1978, §§ 74-6-9.B and 74-6-9.E] 

23.  DUTY to PROVIDE INFORMATION - The permittee shall, upon NMED’s request, 
allow NMED’s inspection/duplication of records required by this Discharge Permit and/or 
furnish to NMED copies of such records.  
 
[Subsection D of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC] 

24.  MODIFICATIONS and/or AMENDMENTS – In the event the permittee proposes a 
change to the facility or the facility’s discharge that would result in a change in the 
volume discharged; the location of the discharge;  or in the amount or character of water 
contaminants received, treated or discharged by the facility, the permittee shall notify 
NMED prior to implementing such changes.  The permittee shall obtain approval (which 
may require modification of this Discharge Permit) by NMED prior to implementing such 
changes.  
 
[Subsection C of 20.6.2.3107 NMAC, Subsections E and G of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC] 
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25.  PLANS and SPECIFICATIONS – In the event the permittee is proposing to construct a 
wastewater system or change a process unit of an existing system such that the quantity or 
quality of the discharge will change substantially from that authorized by this Discharge 
Permit, the permittee shall submit construction plans and specifications to NMED for the 
proposed system or process unit prior to the commencement of construction. 
 
In the event the permittee implements changes to the wastewater system authorized by 
this Discharge Permit which result in only a minor effect on the character of the 
discharge, the permittee shall report such changes (including the submission of record 
drawings, where applicable) as of January 1 and June 30 of each year to NMED.   
 
[Subsections A and C of 20.6.2.1202 NMAC, NMSA 1978, §§ 61-23-1 through 61-23-
32] 

26.  CIVIL PENALTIES - Any violation of the requirements and conditions of this Discharge 
Permit, including any failure to allow NMED staff to enter and inspect records or 
facilities, or any refusal or failure to provide NMED with records or information, may 
subject the permittee to a civil enforcement action.  Pursuant to WQA 74-6-10(A) and 
(B), such action may include a compliance order requiring compliance immediately or in 
a specified time, assessing a civil penalty, modifying or terminating the Discharge Permit, 
or any combination of the foregoing; or an action in district court seeking injunctive 
relief, civil penalties, or both.  Pursuant to WQA 74-6-10(C) and 74-6-10.1, civil penalties 
of up to $15,000 per day of noncompliance may be assessed for each violation of the 
WQA 74-6-5, the WQCC Regulations, or this Discharge Permit, and civil penalties of up 
to $10,000 per day of noncompliance may be assessed for each violation of any other 
provision of the WQA, or any regulation, standard, or order adopted pursuant to such 
other provision.  In any action to enforce this Discharge Permit, the permittee waives any 
objection to the admissibility as evidence of any data generated pursuant to this Discharge 
Permit.   
 
[20.6.2.1220 NMAC, NMSA 1978, §§ 74-6-10 and 74-6-10.1]  

27.  CRIMINAL PENALTIES – No person shall: 
1) make any false material statement, representation, certification or omission of 

material fact in an application, record, report, plan or other document filed, submitted 
or required to be maintained under the WQA;  

2) falsify, tamper with or render inaccurate any monitoring device, method or record 
required to be maintained under the WQA; or 

3) fail to monitor, sample or report as required by a permit issued pursuant to a state or 
federal law or regulation. 

 
Any person who knowingly violates or knowingly causes or allows another person to 
violate the requirements of this condition is guilty of a fourth degree felony and shall be 
sentenced in accordance with the provisions of NMSA 1978, § 31-18-15.  Any person 
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who is convicted of a second or subsequent violation of the requirements of this condition 
is guilty of a third degree felony and shall be sentenced in accordance with the provisions 
of NMSA 1978, § 31-18-15.  Any person who knowingly violates the requirements of this 
condition or knowingly causes another person to violate the requirements of this condition 
and thereby causes a substantial adverse environmental impact is guilty of a third degree 
felony and shall be sentenced in accordance with the provisions of NMSA 1978, § 31-18-
15.  Any person who knowingly violates the requirements of this condition and knows at 
the time of the violation that he is creating a substantial danger of death or serious bodily 
injury to any other person is guilty of a second degree felony and shall be sentenced in 
accordance with the provisions of NMSA 1978, § 31-18-15.   
 
[20.6.2.1220 NMAC, NMSA 1978, §§ 74-6-10.2.A through 74-6-10.2.F] 

28.  COMPLIANCE with OTHER LAWS - Nothing in this Discharge Permit shall be 
construed in any way as relieving the permittee of the obligation to comply with all 
applicable federal, state, and local laws, regulations, permits or orders.   
 
[NMSA 1978, § 74-6-5.L] 

29.  RIGHT to APPEAL - The permittee may file a petition for review before the WQCC on 
this Discharge Permit.  Such petition shall be in writing to the WQCC within thirty days 
of the receipt of postal notice of this Discharge Permit and shall include a statement of the 
issues to be raised and the relief sought.  Unless a timely petition for review is made, the 
decision of NMED shall be final and not subject to judicial review.   
 
[20.6.2.3112 NMAC, NMSA 1978, § 74-6-5.O] 

30.  TRANSFER of DISCHARGE PERMIT - Prior to the transfer of any ownership, control, 
or possession of this facility or any portion thereof, the permittee shall:  
1) notify the proposed transferee in writing of the existence of this Discharge Permit;  
2) include a copy of this Discharge Permit with the notice; and  
3) deliver or send by certified mail to NMED a copy of the notification and proof that 

such notification has been received by the proposed transferee.   
 
Until both ownership and possession of the facility have been transferred to the transferee, 
the permittee shall continue to be responsible for any discharge from the facility. 
 
[20.6.2.3111 NMAC] 

31.  PERMIT FEES - Payment of permit fees is due at the time of Discharge Permit approval.  
Permit fees shall be paid in a single payment or shall be paid in equal installments on a 
yearly basis over the term of the Discharge Permit.  Single payments shall be remitted to 
NMED no later than 30 days after the Discharge Permit effective date.  Initial installment 
payments shall be remitted to NMED no later than 30 days after the Discharge Permit 
effective date; subsequent installment payments shall be remitted to NMED no later than 
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the anniversary of the Discharge Permit effective date.   
 
Permit fees are associated with issuance of this Discharge Permit.  Nothing in this 
Discharge Permit shall be construed as relieving the permittee of the obligation to pay all 
permit fees assessed by NMED.  A permittee that ceases discharging or does not 
commence discharging from the facility during the term of the Discharge Permit shall pay 
all permit fees assessed by NMED.  An approved Discharge Permit shall be suspended or 
terminated if the facility fails to remit an installment payment by its due date. 
 
[Subsection F of 20.6.2.3114 NMAC, NMSA 1978, § 74-6-5.K] 

 
 
V. PERMIT TERM & SIGNATURE  
 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  [effective date]   
TERM ENDS:  [expiration date]  
 
[Subsection H of 20.6.2.3109 NMAC, NMSA 1978, § 74-6-5.I] 
 
 
 
 
________________________________ 
JERRY SCHOEPPNER 
Chief, Ground Water Quality Bureau 
New Mexico Environment Department 
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