Skip to main content
Contact Information:
(505) 827-2855 MAIN // 1-800-219-6157 (toll free)
Environmental Emergencies:
505-827-9329 (24 hrs)
New Mexico
Environment Department
Liquid Waste Program

Wastewater Technical Advisory Committee (WTAC)

In 2003, the New Mexico State Legislature amended the Department of Environment Act to create the Wastewater Technical Advisory Committee (WTAC), that consists of five members appointed by the NMED secretary.  The WTAC serves to,

“provide standardized objective evaluation of wastewater treatment and disposal technologies for both large- and small-flow domestic, commercial and agricultural wastewater systems and submit its findings to the secretary for final approval by the secretary, who shall add the wastewater treatment and disposal technologies to the list of approved technologies maintained by the department…”

The NMED secretary appointed the five WTAC members in June 2003, and the WTAC held its first meeting in September 2003. 


Documents for download (all in PDF, unless otherwise noted)

WTAC Meeting is scheduled for Friday July 12, 2019, 9:30am -2:00pm  at the NMED District 1 Field Office located at 121 Tijeras Ave. NE, Ste. 1000 Albuquerque, NM 87102.

 WTAC Agenda

WTAC Notice

Previous Meeting Minutes, Draft 3-29-19

The WTAC adopted revised product review procedures at its June 30, 2017 meeting. The new process includes appendices to facilitate submittals.

Product Review Process June 30, 2017

WTAC’s 2014 Open Meetings Act Policy Open Meetings Resolution
WTAC Meeting Procedures were amended at the March 16, 2012 meeting WTAC Meeting Procedures
Historical Product review procedures 12/14/12 Product Review
Product Submittal Application
A presentation describing the product certification process at the National Sanitation Foundation Presentation


WTAC Members

W. Daniel Boivin

  • AMEC Foster Wheeler
  • 8519 Jefferson, NE
    Albuquerque, NM 87113



Andy Schuler

  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • MSC 01-1070
    University of New Mexico
    Albuquerque, NM 87131
  • phone: 505-277-4729
Terry Mount

  • Technical Studies Department Chair
  • NMSU Dona Ana Community College
    P.O. Box 30001, 3400 South Expina Street
    Las Cruces, NM 88003-8001
  • phone: 575-527-7500

Donald W. Becker

  • New Mexico Homebuilders Association
  • 2601 Harvard Drive
  • Farmington, NM 87402-4510
  • Mail to: Medallion Heating
  • 108 West Quince
  • Farmington, NM 87401
  • (505) 320-0291



Loren Allen

  • 23 Arroyo Viejo
    Santa Fe, NM 87508
  • 505-471-4465


Harold L. Runnels Building // 1190 St. Francis Drive, Suite N4050 // Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505 // tel (800) 219-6157, (505) 827-2855

About Us Contact Us A-Z index Site Map Website Information NM Sunshine Portal