State of New Mexico > Environment Department > Solid Waste Bureau
NMED Home

Harold Runnels Building Room N2150
1190 St. Francis Drive - P.0. Box 5469 Santa Fe, 87502-5469
Phone: (505) 827-0197 Fax: (505) 827-2902


Training Opportunities

2018 Operator Certification Courses

Transfer Station Operator Certification Course June 5-7

Moriarty Civic Center

202 Broadway, Moriarty

To Register

For the Landfill and Transfer Station courses:

Students must register with the Roadrunner Chapter of the Solid Waste Association of North America, co-sponsors of the course.

Registration forms and specific class details are available by contacting JoAnne Weaver, Executive Secretary, SWANA Roadrunner Chapter, at 505-363-4795, or through the Roadrunner Chapter web site at www.nmswana.com

November 6-8

Ralph Edwards Auditorium, Civic Center

400 West 4th Ave, Truth or Consequences

Landfill Operator Certification Course March 13-16

McGee Park

41 Road 5568, Farmington

September 11-14

Pecos River Village Conference Center

711 Muscatel Drive, Carlsbad

Recycling Facility Operator Certification Course May 8-10

ENMU-Ruidoso

709 Mechem Drive, Ruidoso

To Register

For the Recycling Facility and Composting Facility courses:

Students must register with the New Mexico Recycling Coalition, co-sponsors of the course.

Registration forms and specific class details are available by contacting Sarah Pierpont, Executive Director, at 505-603-0558 or through the NMRC web site at www.recyclenewmexico.com

December 4-6

McGee Park

41 Road 5568, Farmington

Compost Facility Operator Certification Course April 10-12

Albuquerque Fire Academy

11500 Sunset Gardens SW Albuquerque

October 16-18

Albuquerque Fire Academy

11500 Sunset Gardens SW Albuquerque

For additional information regarding the Certification Course content contact Joan Snider, NMED, Solid Waste Bureau, Outreach Section, at 505-827-2780 or by e-mail at joanm.snider@state.nm.us

Students enrolling in these classes are reminded to bring normal classroom supplies for taking notes and highlighting training materials. They should also bring a pocket calculator, both for doing class work and taking the certification exam at the end of the course. Students enrolling in the landfill classes will also need a ruler for measuring / interpreting plans and drawings.

Additional Training/Educational Opportunities:

None listed at this time.

Operator Certification Requirements

To become a certified operator an individual shall:

  • Complete the appropriate certification training course
  • Pass an examination approved by the department
  • Have at least one year of experience in the operation of a facility of the same type as that for which certification is sought
  • File an application with the department on a form provided by the department
  • Meet the requirements of the Parental Responsibility Act, NMSA 1978, Sections 40-5A-1 to 40-5A-13 (1998 Cum. Supp.)

Operator certifications are valid for three (3) years from the date of issuance

Renewal of a certification shall be obtained by:

  • Submitting an application at least 30 days prior to the expiration date;
  • And successfully completing:
    • An operator certification training course offered by the department or its designated agent; or
    • An alternate training course which has been approved by the department; or
    • 24 hours of course work which has been approved by the department.

For additional information regarding Operator Certification contact William Schueler, at 505-827-2426 or by  e-mail at: william.schueler@state.nm.us

Initial Certification FormApplication for Solid Waste Facility Operator Certification

Certification Renewal Form:  Application for Renewal of Operator Certification

 

page last updated