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Memorandum 
To:  PI Inspectors, AST and UST Installers 
Through: Jim Davis, Bureau Chief 
  Kalvin Martin, Program Manager 
From:  Jennifer J. Pruett, Tank Fee Manager 
Date:  November 24, 2008 
Re:  Installer Exam, Initial Application and Renewal Requirements 
 
 This memo is to clarify current requirements for certified installers, and how they will be 
changing with proposed rule revisions that we hope the EIB will adopt next spring, to become 
effective next summer (approximately July 2009).  We hope this will help provide accurate 
answers to installers' questions, and to understand inspectors' important participation in this 
process. 
 
1.  Current and Future Initial Application Requirements 
 A. All information listed on application form (20.5.14.10.A), including an on-site exam 
and 1 year of field experience in the last 3 years. 
 B. ICC installer's test (20.5.14.10.A(7) and (8) for UST and 20.5.14.11.A(7) and (8).
 C. NM Rules test (20.5.14.10.A(7) for UST and 20.5.14.11.A(7).  If an installer took an 
ICC New Mexico UST Laws/Rules test, and provided evidence of this in his August/September 
initial application, we will accept it.  However, in September we asked all applicants to cancel 
any scheduled ICC New Mexico tests, as this test was out-of-date.  Instead, these installers must 
take our PSTB New Mexico Laws & Rules test, offered starting December 1, 2008. 
 
2.   Current Renewal Requirements are the same as those for initial application, except for the 
requirement for an on-site exam, and the experience that must be demonstrated.  For renewal, 
installers need only show 2 installations, modifications, repairs, replacements or similar 
qualifying work. 
 Note that 20.5.14.16.G, 20.5.14.10.A(9) and 20.5.14.11.A(9) all require an installer to 
show that he has continuously maintained certification from an approved educator.  This means 
he must show he is current with ICC certification on his renewal application. 
 If an installer took an ICC New Mexico UST Laws/Rules test, and provided evidence of 
this in his August/September application for renewal, we will accept it.  However, in September 
we asked all applicants to cancel any scheduled ICC New Mexico tests, as this test was out-of-
date.  Instead, these installers must take our PSTB New Mexico Laws & Rules test, which will 
be offered starting December 1, 2008. 
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3.   Revised Renewal Requirements 
 A. We have proposed eliminating the requirement for continuous ICC certification.  
Installers would no longer have to take and pass ICC tests every 2 years to maintain NM 
certification, and would not have to provide evidence they have passed an ICC 
Installation/Retrofitting test on their renewal applications.  However, we have to require this 
until the EIB adopts the proposed revisions. 
 B. We have proposed broadening the experience requirement to allow use of experience 
in other states, as long as the installer provides inspector oversight contact information, so we 
can verify it. 
 C. The only test an installer would have to pass for renewal is the NM Laws & Rules test, 
administered by PSTB.  No ICC test would be required; ICC is no longer giving a NM laws test. 
 
4. Administering the NM Laws & Rules Test 
 About December 1, this office will mail to all installers expiring in March (extended from 
September) a letter detailing exactly what their application needs.  Some have completed all 
requirements (with an ICC New Mexico UST Laws/Rules test) and have been mailed 
certification documentation, expiring March 2013.  Some have not submitted any application at 
all; others have taken ICC's Installation/Retrofitting exam but no New Mexico rules exam.  Each 
installer's letter will detail exactly what he needs to do to complete the renewal process. 
 Also on December 1, the PSTB will post on its webpage a calendar of dates and locations 
we will offer the NM Laws & Rules test, with contact information for all inspectors who will 
administer the exam.  This calendar should ensure the exam is readily available most weeks 
around the state.  We will offer it in Santa Fe every day. 
 The PSTB will send to installer applicants and post on the webpage a memo with 
instructions on how to schedule and take the exam: 
 A. Send a check or money order for $45 made out to the Storage Tank Fund to my 
 attention in Santa Fe; 
 B. My office will notify the local inspector when a check is received; 
 C. The local inspector and applicant will schedule the test for a date on the calendar; 
 D. My office will email a test(s) to the inspector to administer; 
 E. The inspector will give the applicant 1 hour to complete the test, ensuring the 
 applicant has no materials (such as rulebooks) with him, and turns off all cell phones; no 
 discussion or clarification of questions is permitted. 
 F. The inspector will keep a copy of the test, and mail my office the original; the 
 applicant does not receive a copy of any blank or completed test. 
 G. My office will grade the test, and inform the applicant in writing within 15 

working days of his grade, with a copy to the inspector.  If the applicant fails, the letter 
will indicate which parts of the rules contained most incorrect answers.  No tests will be 
returned to installers. 

 H. Upon receipt of the letter, the inspector is to shred the copy of the completed test.  
 No blank or completed tests should exist anywhere but my office, except during the 
 mailing time it takes to ensure that an original completed test is received in Santa Fe. 
 I. If the applicant fails the test, he may pay and take the test again within 30 days.  If 

the applicant fails the test a second time, he must start the certification process all over 
again, including taking an on-site exam. 

 
5. If you have any questions, call Jennifer Pruett at (505) 476-4392. 


