
 
 

 
 

 

NEW MEXICO ENVIRONMENT 
DEPARTMENT 

Petroleum Storage Tank Bureau 
2905 Rodeo Park Drive East, Bldg 1 

Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505 
Telephone (505) 476-4397 Fax (505) 476-4374 

www.nmenv.state.nm.us 
 
 
 
 
 
 

APPLICATION FOR AST/UST RENEWAL CERTIFICATION 
FOR PETROLEUM STORAGE TANKS [rev’d 11.27.12] 

 
Please check the applicable certification(s) you are seeking to renew and applicable fees. 

Note: you may use this application to renew certification for one of both types of tanks. 
This is the correct form if you are currently certified in New Mexico. 

Check 
type 

 

Type of Certification 
 

Date previous cert expires 
 

Fee for application 

 AST Certification  $50.00 
 UST Certification  $50.00 
 

Late fee if application filed after, but within 3 months of AST expiration date 
 

$25.00 
 

Late fee if application filed after, but within 3 months of UST expiration date 
 

$25.00 
 

Total applicable fees:  

 
Fees: All fees are non-refundable. Do not send cash.  W e accept checks or money orders only. 
Make your check or money order payable to: Storage Tank Fund 

 
Send your application and fees to: 

 
NMED Petroleum Storage Tank Bureau 
Attention: Bertha Aragon 
2905 Rodeo Park Drive East, Bldg 1 
Santa Fe, NM 87505 

 
Please indicate the date on which you passed your New Mexico Laws and Rules test:                         (must be 
within the last 3 months).   If you have not passed a Laws and Rules test within the last 3 months, your 
application will be rejected. To sign up for either the AST or UST test, submit payment ($45 for each test) made 
out to the Storage Tank Fund. Mail your payment to the address l i s t e d a b o v e and include a cover letter 
with your name, the date, and location you would like to take the test(s). 

http://www.nmenv.state.nm.us/
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Please print or type all information below: 
1. Do you owe child support in New Mexico?   yes   no 

 
2. Full name:  
3. Residence address:  
4. Residence phone:  
5. Cell phone:  
6. Applicant’s date of 

Birth: 
 

7. Applicant’s social 
security number: 

 

8. Applicant’s business 
or employer: 

 

9. Business address:  
10. Business phone:  
11. Business email:  
12. Applicant’s or employer’s 

CID License # 
 

13. CID License ever 
suspended or revoked? 

  yes; If yes, explain on separate sheet. 
no 

14. Supervisor name for 
installer apprenticeship: 

 

15. Name of employer’s 
company: 

 

16. Supervisor’s phone:  
 

17. Type/Number of UST(s) you have installed in past 4 years: (if applying for UST) 
 How many did you supervise? How many did you install? 
Bare/Asphalt Coated Steel   
Fiberglass   
Fiberglass Coated Steel   
Cathodically Protected Steel (STI-P3)   
Dual Containment (Excavation Liner)   
Double W all UST   

Totals:   
18. Type/Number of AST(s) you have installed in past 4 years: (if applying for AST) 

 How many did you supervise? How many did you install? 
Steel Tanks (vertical)   
Steel Tanks (shop-built)   
Steel Tanks (field-erected)   
Steel Tanks, cathodically protected   
Vaults or Special Enclosures   
Secondary Containment (concrete)   
Secondary Containment (steel)   
Secondary Containment (geo-syn liner)   
Double W all AST   
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Totals:   
19. Type/Number of piping units you have installed in past 4 years: (both UST and AST) 

 How many did you supervise? How many did you install? 
Black Iron/Galvanized   
Copper   
Fiberglass   
Cathodically Protected Steel   
Double W all Piping   

Totals:   
 

20. In addition to the information in the preceding boxes, on the next page, please provide information 
demonstrating that you have completed at least 2 AST or UST system installations, replacements, repairs or 
modifications during the last 4 years. Include copies of pertinent inspection reports (or other similar documents) 
for the work performed along with the name, phone number, and email contact of the supervising inspector. 
You  may use  field  experience in  New  Mexico or  in  other  states.    Please refer  to  the requirements of 
20.5.14.12 NMAC for additional information on the experience requirement. 

 
21. Have you had any business or occupation license or certification suspended or revoked in this or any other 
state?       yes         no; If yes, please submit the date the certification was revoked or suspended and explain 
the circumstances on separate sheet. 

 
Note: Within 15 days after PSTB receives this application, you will be notified whether the application is 
complete; please contact Bertha Aragon at 505-476-4397 for information on the status of your 
application. 

 
 
 
 

STATE OF                                          ) 
) 

COUNTY OF   ) 
 

I hereby state that all information submitted in this application is true and correct. 
 

Signed:    
 

SUSCRIBED AND SW ORN to before me on this   day of   201_ by 
 

  (print or type name). 
 
 

Notary Public (signature) 
 

My commission expires: 



Tank Installer Certification Renewal Page 4  
Experience information: 

 
In the space below and on additional pages as needed, please provide information demonstrating your 
experience as an installer in the past 4 years.  Be sure to include copies of pertinent inspection reports (or other 
similar documents) for the work performed, that includes the names, phone number and email contact of the 
supervising inspector.  Please include the dates all installer work was performed.  You may use field experience 
in New Mexico or in other states. Please refer to the requirements of 20.5.14.12 NMAC for additional information 
on the experience requirement. 


