
Investigation, Enforcement and Penalties 
 
PSTB may investigate and enforce regulations 
regarding Tank Installer Certification per 20.5.14.19 
NMAC, and may revoke certification for an installer 
upon grounds that the installer: 
 

1) used fraud, misrepresentation or deception in 
obtaining the certification; 

2) exhibited gross incompetence in the 
installation, replacement, repair, modification 
or removal of a storage tank system; or 

3) was derelict in the performance of a duty as a 
certified installer required in 20.5.14.17 
NMAC (including repeated failure to provide 
notice of releases or of the installation, 
replacement, repair, modification or removal 
of storage tank systems. 

 
PSTB will follow the Uniform Licensing Act, NMSA 
1978, Sections 61-1-1 through 61-1-33 when denying 
or revoking certification. 
 
 
 
 

 
 

For more information write or call: 
 

New Mexico Environment 
Petroleum Storage Tank Bureau 

1301 Siler Road, Bldg. B 
Santa Fe, NM  87507 

(505) 476-4397 
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PSTB Prevention & Inspection Staff 
 

Albuquerque 
 

Keith Chavez  (Keith.Chavez@state.nm.us) 
505- 222-9559 

Bart Butler  (Bart.Butler@state.nm.us) 
505-222-9556 

Dan Lopez  (Dan.Lopez@state.nm.us) 
505-222-9549 

 
Farmington 

 
Tom Gray (Tom.Gray@state.nm.us) 

505-566-9745 
Bob Bouren (Robert.Bouren@state.nm.us) 

505- 566-9748 
 

Las Cruces 
 

Joe Godwin  (Joe.Godwin@state.nm.us) 
575-524-6300 

Lowell Watkins (Lowell.Watkins@state.nm.us) 
575-524-6300 

 
Las Vegas 

 
Adrian Jaramillo (Adrian.Jaramillo@state.nm.us) 

575- 454-2808 
 

Roswell 
 

Elmer Smith (Elmer.Smith@state.nm.us) 
575-624-6123 

 
Santa Fe 

 
Kal Martin (Kalvin.Martin@state.nm.us) 

505-476-4390 
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Requirements for Tank Installer Certification 
 
New Mexico has required certification for tank 
installers since 1989.  Anyone exercising supervisory 
control over a tank installation, repair or modification 
work that could affect a tank system’s integrity, must 
be a certified installer per 20.5.14.8 or 20.5.14.9 
NMAC (which contain clarifications and exceptions to 
this general requirement). 
 

Applications 
 
Applications and requirements for first time 
certification and for renewal are located on the PSTB 
webpage (www.nmenv.state.nm.us/ust) on the “Tank 
Installer Certification” tab. 

 
Requirements for Initial Certification 

 
For each type of certification (AST, UST or both), the 
applicant must submit: 

• Application 
• $50 fee 
• Demonstration of experience 
• A passing grade on the International Council 

AST/UST Installation/Retrofitting exam. 
• Passing grade on NM Laws and Rules exam 
• Passing grade an on-site exam with a fee of 

$300 
 

Requirements for Renewal Certification 
 
For each type of certification (AST, UST or both), the 
applicant must submit: 

• Application 
• $50 fee 
• Demonstration of experience 
• Passing grade on NM Laws and Rules exam 
• Renewal requirements may be reviewed in 

20.5.14.15 NMAC located 
at www.nmenv.state.nm.us/ust on the “PST 
Regulations.” tab.  

PSTB cannot accept renewal applications after 
February 16th of the year that the installer certification 
expires.  The renewal process must be completed by 
the expiration date of March 16, or the certification 
automatically expires and the installer must then 
complete the initial first time certification requirements 
of 20.5.14.10 or 20.5.14.11 NMAC. 

 
NM Laws and Rules Exam 

 
These are written tests required by 20.5.14.16 NMAC 
that are created and administrated by PSTB. 
The exams cover all PST Regulations and applicants 
taking this exam should focus on 20.5 NMAC Parts:  

• 1 - Definitions,  
• 4 - Tank Installation and Standard Codes 
• 5 - Operation /Maintenance of Storage Tanks 
• 6 - Release Detection for ASTs and USTs 
• 7 - Reporting Spills and Releases 
• 8 - Tank Closure requirements 
• 14 - Certification of Tank Installers 
• 18 - Operator Training 
• 19 - Delivery Prohibition 

 
Applicants may take this test at any PSTB field office 
listed on this brochure.  A $45 fee is required for each 
individual AST or UST certification.  
 
Payment should be made to the Storage Tank Fund and 
mailed to the Santa Fe office with a letter that indicates 
the preferred location and date for the test. 
 

On-Site Examination 
 
This exam required by 20.5.14.13 NMAC entails a 
complete tank system installation supervised by a 
PSTB inspector within 180 days from the date the 
application is submitted and requires a nonrefundable 
$300 fee.  
 
For good cause shown, the department may grant an 
applicant a one-time 180-day extension in which the 
applicant must take the on-site examination.  If the 
applicant does not complete an on-site examination 

within the extension’s time period, the applicant must 
file a new application for certification, and must 
comply with all initial application requirements in 
20.5.14.10 or 11 NMAC. 
 
An applicant fails an on-site exam when cited for 3 
significant errors during the on-site examination.  
Errors are defined as improper use of materials or 
installation practices that violate PSTB regulations, 
manufacturer’s installation instructions or any other 
industry standards.  A PSTB inspector may stop an on-
site exam at any time if any activity presents a threat to 
public health, safety or welfare of the environment. 
 

Installation Duties and Obligations 
 
PSTB requires that certified installers comply with all 
PST regulations. NMAC 20.5.14.17 requires that a 
certified installer shall:  
 

1) exercise responsible supervisory control over 
any installation, replacement, repair or 
modification undertaken;  

2) at a minimum, be physically present on-site at 
all critical junctures in the installation, 
replacement, repair or modification; and  

3) give notice as required by these regulations, 
20.5 NMAC.  

 
Only a certified installer who has the adequate 
knowledge of materials and technical requirements 
may perform installations, replacements, repairs, 
modifications, or removals and must provide 30 day 
written notice except for emergency repairs as 
described in 20.5.5 NMAC and defined in 20.5.1 
NMAC. Completion of any of the actions listed must 
comply with the New Mexico Hazardous Waste Act, 
NMSA 1978, Sections 74-4-1 through 74-4-14, and the 
Petroleum Storage Tank Regulations 20.5 NMAC.  
 
It is the responsibility of the installer to report any 
suspected or confirmed releases observed at a site or 
surrounding area by the installer or any of the staff that 
he/she supervises (20.5.7 NMAC). 
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