State of New Mexico > Environment Department > Petroleum Storage Tank Bureau
NMED Home Page

PSTB Storage Tank Committee

The Storage Tank Committee is an advisory committee (Ground Water Protection Act, Section 74-6B-4 NMSA 1978) which has seven members, appointed by the governor to staggered terms. The committee reviews corrective action plans and monthly financial reports on the Corrective Action Fund. It makes recommendations to the Secretary of the Environment Department. The meetings serve as a public forum on a variety of issues related to the state's program for managing underground and above ground storage tanks. The committee has public meetings in varying locations, usually in Santa Fe or Albuquerque. STC meeting minutes become available to the public upon approval by the committee and can be downloaded here.

At the August 16, 2017 Storage Tank Committee meeting, there was not a quorum. Therefore, all action items and updates will be repeated at the next meeting, and no minutes from the August meeting will be produced or published.

The next Storage Tank Committee Meeting is scheduled for

December 13 , 2017, 10 a.m.
Rio Grande Room, Toney Anaya Building
2550 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM

Watch here for the agenda

Minutes and packets from previous meetings are available below

Current Storage Tank Committee Members are:

J.C. Borrego (Chair), Santa Fe, NM
Ryan L. Briggs (Fire Protection), Farmington, NM
Benjamin Hodges (Wholesaler), Los Lunas, NM
Brent Neil (Private Citizen), Albuquerque, NM
              Jeffrey Scarbrough (Independent Retailer), Clovis, NM
Stephen McLin (Corrective Action Expert)
Vacant (Local Elected Official)

If you are an individual with a disability who needs a reader, amplifier, qualified sign language interpreter, or any other form of auxiliary aid or service to attend or participate in the hearing or meeting, contact Linda Vigil at least ten days prior to the meeting or as soon as possible at 505.827.2002 (Relay users please access the number via the New Mexico Relay Network) or Public documents can be provided in various accessible formats. Contact Linda Vigil if accessible format is needed.

Reporting Non-Employee Complaints Alleging Discrimination
Under 40 C.F.R Parts 5 and 7

NMED does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, disability, age or sex in the administration of its programs or activities, as required by applicable laws and regulations. NMED is responsible for coordination of compliance efforts and receipt of inquiries concerning non-discrimination requirements implemented by 40 C.F.R. Part 7, including Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended; Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973; the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, and Section 13 of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1972. If you have any questions about this notice or any of NMED’s non- discrimination programs, policies or procedures, you may contact:

Kristine Pintado, Non-Discrimination Coordinator
New Mexico Environment Department
1190 St. Francis Dr., Suite N4050
P.O. Box 5469
Santa Fe, NM 87502
(505) 827-2855

If you believe that you have been discriminated against with respect to a NMED program or activity, you may contact the Non-Discrimination Coordinator identified above.

All other questions regarding the Storage Tank Committee should be directed to Bonney Hughes at:

State of New Mexico
 Environment Department
Petroleum Storage Tank Bureau

2905 Rodeo Park Drive East
                                        Building 1                               
Santa Fe, NM 87505
tel. (505) 476-4397
fax (505) 476-4374

For information on the proposed revision of NM Petroleum Storage Tank regulations, please go to our Regulatory Revisions webpage at

For previous meeting's minutes, agendas, and packets, please follow the links below. Minutes for the most recent meeting will become available after approval, usually at the next meeting.

At the August 16, 2017 Storage Tank Committee meeting, there was not a quorum. Therefore, all action items and updates will be repeated at the next meeting, and no minutes from the August meeting will be produced or published.

Minutes Attachments
May 2017 minutes will be available after approval at next meeting May 2017
September 2016 September 2016
May 2016

May 2016 Public Handout
May 2016 Compliance Handout

November 2015 November 2015
April 2015 April 2015
November 2014 November 2014
  May 2014
January 2014

January 2014 Part 1

January 2014 Part 2

October 2013 October 2013
June 2013 June 2013
March 2013

March 2013 Part 1

March 2013 Part 2

December 2012 December 2012
  November 2010
September 2010  
June 2010 June 2010
April 2010 April 2010
January 2010 January 2010
October 2009 October 2009
August 2009 August 2009
June 2009 June 2009
December 2008 December 2008
September 2008 September 2008
March 2008 March 2008
January 2008  
September 2007  
April 18, 2007  
January 1, 2007  
September 21, 2006  
July 19, 2006  
May 17, 2006  
January 12, 2005  
November 17, 2004  
July 21, 2004  
May 19, 2004  
April 23, 2003  
February 26, 2003  
December 04, 2002  
September 25, 2002  
May 15, 2002  
March 4, 2002  


page last updated