

1

STATE OF NEW MEXICO WATER QUALITY CONTROL COMMISSION

1190 St. Francis Drive, Suite S-2102 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505 Phone: (505) 827-2428

CONSTITUENT AGENCIES

Draft Meeting Minutes

Environment Department
Game and Fish Department
Department of Agriculture
State Parks Division
Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources

State Engineer & Interstate Stream Commission
Oil Conservation Division
Department of Health
Soil and Water Conservation Commission
Members-at-Large

2	New Mexico Water Quality Control Commission				
3	Meeting				
4	October 08, 2019 9:00 a.m. State Capitol Building, Room 307				
5					
6					
7	490 Old Santa Fe Trail				
8	Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501				
9					
10					
11	MEMBERS PRESENT:				
12	Jennifer Pruett	Chair, New Mexico Environment Department			
13	Gabriel Wade	Vice Chair, Oil Conservation Division			
14					
15	Du Aldural Asharlan	Development of Health			
16	Dr. Abinash Achrekar	Department of Health			
17	Keith Candelaria	Member-at-Large			
18	David Certain	State Parks Division, Energy, Minerals and Natural			
19	Lower Dominous	Resources Department			
20	Larry Dominguez	Department of Agriculture			
21	Howard Hutchinson	Soil and Water Conservation Commission			
22 23	Krista McWilliams Ghassan Musharrafieh	Member-at-Large			
	Ghassan Musharranen	New Mexico State Engineer and Intrastate Stream Commission			
2425	Kirk Patten	New Mexico Game and Fish			
26	Kirk Fatteri Kelsey Rader	Member-at-Large			
27	David Sypher (teleconference)	Municipal and County Representative			
28	Bruce Thomson	Member-at-Large			
29	Stacy Timmons	New Mexico Bureau of Geology and Mineral			
30	Stacy Timmons	Resources			
31		Resources			
32	MEMBERS ABSENT:				
33	WIEWIDEND ADDIVIT.				
34					
<i>-</i> -					

35	OTHERS PI		
36	John Grubesi	c	Commission Counsel
37	Cody Barnes		Commission Administrator
38	Rebekah Mar	tinez	Commission Administrator
39	Cheryl Arreg	uin	Certified Court Reporter
40	Felicia Orth		Hearing Officer for WQCC 19-03 (R)
41	Stuart R. But	zier	Counsel for Peabody Natural Resources Company
42			in WQCC 19-03 (R)
43	Christina C. Sheehan		Counsel for Peabody Natural Resources Company
44			in WQCC 19-03 (R)
45	John Cochran	1	Consultant for Peabody Natural Resources
46			Company providing technical testimony
47	Chad Gaines		Environmental Specialist for Peabody Natural
48			Resources Company providing technical testimony
49	Jeffrey Olyph	nant	Hydrology manager for Peabody Natural Resources
50	3 31		Company providing technical testimony
51	James Boswe	:11	Environmental, Regulatory and Permitting Director
52			for Peabody Natural Resources Company providing
53			technical testimony
54	Annie Maxfield		Counsel for NMED in WQCC 19-03 (R)
55	Shelly Lemon	1	Surface Water Quality Bureau Chief for NMED
56	J		providing technical testimony
57	Jennifer Fulla	am	Environmental Scientist Supervisor for the Surface
58			Water Quality Bureau providing technical
59			testimony
60			, and the second
61			
62	Please see at	tached sign-in-sheet for othe	rs present.
63			r
64	The Chair cal	lled the meeting to order at 9:0	00 a.m.
65		8	
66	Item 1.	Roll Call.	
67			
68		The Administrator called the	e roll: a quorum was present.
69			ron, w quorum was presente
70	Item 2.	Approval of the Draft Age	nda.
71	100111 20	ripprovar of the Draitinger	
72	Action:	Vice Chair Wade moved to	approve the draft agenda. Commissioner Dominguez
73	11001011		e Chair called a voice vote. The motion passed
74		unanimously.	e chair canca a voice voice. The motion passed
75		anammousty.	
76	Item 3.	Approval of meeting minus	tes from September 10, 2019.
77	200111 00	inprover of meeting imme	10 10 m september 10, 2017.
78	Action:	Commissioner Hutchinson n	noved to approve the meeting minutes from September
79	. 10010111		seconded the motion. The Chair called a voice vote.
80		The motion passed unanimo	
Q1		The motion passed unanimo	uoiy.

83 84 85 Item 4. Public comment. 86 87 **Action:** No members of the public wished to speak. 88 89 Item 5. Regulatory Hearing; WQCC 19-03 (R), In the Matter of the Proposed 90 Amendments to Surface Water Quality Standards for San Isidro Arroyo and 91 Tributaries 20.6.4 NMAC. Stuart R. Butzier, Modrall Sperling Roehl Harris 92 & Sisk, P.A., counsel on behalf of Peabody Natural Resources Company. 93 Annie Maxfield, NMED/OGC. The Water Quality Control Commission may 94 render a decision following the hearing. 95 96 **Action:** Ms. Cheryl Arreguin from Albuquerque Court Reporting Services transcribed The transcript is available for review at the Commission 97 agenda item 5. 98 Administrator's Office at 1190 South Saint Francis Drive, Santa Fe, New Mexico, 99 87505. A copy can be obtained from Albuquerque Court Reporting Service, LLC. 100 Post Office Box 56787, Albuquerque, New Mexico 87187, or (505) 806-1202. 101 102 Hearing Officer Felicia Orth provided an explanation of the hearing procedures. 103 104 Mr. Stuart R. Butzier, counsel for the Applicant, gave an opening statement. Mr. 105 John Cochran, Mr. Chad Gaines, Mr. Jeffery Olyphant, and Mr. James Boswell 106 provided technical testimony for the Applicant, and were examined as a panel by the Commissioners and NMED counsel. 107 108 109 Ms. Annie Maxfield, NMED counsel, provided an opening statement. Ms. Shelly 110 Lemon and Ms. Jennifer Fullam provided technical testimony for the Department, 111 and were examined by Commissioners as a panel. 112 113 Public comment was invited; none was offered. 114 115 The Hearing Officer closed the evidentiary record, and the Commission deliberated 116 on the petition. 117 Commissioner Hutchinson moved to approve the proposed amendment to 20.6.4 118 119 NMAC presented in the Applicant's Exhibit 9. Commissioner Dominguez seconded the motion. The Chair called for a roll call vote. Commissioner Achrekar: 120 121 aye; Commissioner Candelaria: aye; Commissioner Certain: aye; Commissioner Dominguez: aye; Commissioner Hutchinson: aye; Commissioner McWilliams: 122 123 aye; Commissioner Musharrafieh: aye; Commissioner Patten: aye; Chair Pruett: 124 aye; Commissioner Rader: aye; Commissioner Thomson: absent; Commissioner 125 Timmons: aye; and, Vice Chair Wade: aye. The motion passed 13-0. 126 127 Commissioner Hutchinson moved that the Chair may sign an order prepared by

128 Commission Counsel. Commissioner Dominguez seconded the motion. The Chair 129 called a voice vote. The motion passed unanimously.

131		
132		
133		
134	Item 10.	Next meeting and upcoming matters proposed for November 12, 2019
135		
136	Action:	There are no upcoming matters yet for the November 12, 2019 meeting. No action
137		was taken.
138		
139	Item 11.	Adjournment
140		
141	Action:	The meeting adjourned at 2:30 PM.
142		
143		
144		
145		
146		
147		
148		
149		
150		Commission Chair Pruett