

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY Environmental Management Los Alamos Field Office (EM-LA) Los Alamos, New Mexico 87544

EMLA-2020-1546-02-001

Date: August 7, 2020

Mr. Kevin Pierard Bureau Chief Hazardous Waste Bureau New Mexico Environment Department (NMED) 2905 Rodeo Park Drive East, Building 1 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505-6313

Subject: Proposed Changes to the 2016 Compliance Order on Consent Appendixes A, B and C for Fiscal Year (FY) 2021

Dear Mr. Pierard:

The Department of Energy, Environmental Management, Los Alamos Field Office (EM-LA) is formally transmitting proposed changes to the 2016 Compliance Order on Consent (Consent Order) Appendixes A, B and C for FY 2021. This transmittal is provided in accordance with Section C, *Annual Planning Process*, subsections 2 and 3(a) of the 2016 Consent Order. Subsection 2 states that prior to the end of the first quarter of each FY, Department of Energy (DOE) will provide a revision of Appendix A to NMED indicating proposed changes (e.g., redline); and subsection 3(a) states that, to the greatest extent possible, DOE will provide to NMED, a forecast indicating potential proposed changes to Appendix B (e.g., redline) by the end of July of each year. The enclosed Appendixes A, B and C include proposed changes for your review and approval.

I apologize for the delay in delivering this package to you. We look forward to working with you and your team in this process to finalize Appendixes A, B and C, as required by the above mentioned 2016 Compliance Order on Consent.

If you have any questions, you may contact the undersigned at (505) 257-7907 or Arturo.Duran@em.doe.gov.

Sincerely,

M. Lee Bishop for Arturo Duran Designated Agency Manager Environmental Management Los Alamos Field Office Enclosures:

1. 2016 Compliance Order on Consent, Appendix A, Solid Waste Management Unit/Area of Concerns List

2. 2016 Compliance Order on Consent, Appendix B, Milestones and Targets

3. 2016 Compliance Order on Consent, Appendix C, Campaigns

cc:

<u>N3B</u>

Bowlby, Brenda Day, Emily Diehl, David Duran. Zoe Erickson, Mike Katzman, Danny Kohlmeier, Keith Lebak, Kim Legare, Joseph Lockhart, Frazer McGuire, Patrick Rich. Kent Robinson, Bruce Thompson, Troy Veenis, Steve White, Amanda N3Bdocctrl@em-la.doe.gov N3Brecords@em-la.doe.gov Regulatorydocumentation@em-la.doe.gov

EM-LA

Bishop, M. Lee Duran, Arturo Hoffman, Stephen G. Lachman, Kirk D. Nickless, David Rodriguez, Cheryl Underwood, Ben Emla.docs@em.doe.gov