Completing The Commercial Hauler & Special Waste Hauler Registration Form

Purpose: Please refer to this document when completing the Commercial Hauler & Special Waste Hauler Registration Form to ensure that your application contains all of the required information. This will allow timely approval of your registration. This registration is required of all commercial haulers of solid waste and non-commercial haulers of special waste in accordance with the Solid Waste Act, NMSA 1978, § 74-9-8.H, and the New Mexico Solid Waste Rules (SWR), 20.9.3.31.A NMAC.

General Instructions:

- 1. Please refrain from using abbreviations whenever possible, especially in addresses. When the same address needs to be entered more than once on the form, please re-enter the complete address to prevent confusion—avoid phrases such as "same as before."
- 2. If a section of the registration form is not applicable, please indicate "N/A" so it will be obvious that the section was not overlooked.
- 3. Please type or print neatly. This form will become a permanent record with the State of New Mexico and is used to complete your Commercial Waste Haulers Certificate.
- 4. Please attach legible copies of all required attachments to the back of the form. Copies of vehicle registrations and driver's licenses are often illegible and/or expired.
- 5. In accordance with the New Mexico Parental Responsibility Act, persons requesting registration as a commercial waste hauler must submit their social security numbers as part of the application process. This may be accomplished over the telephone. As required by law, the Department uses the numbers to verify that applicants are not in arrears for child support payments prior to issuance of a registration. This requirement applies to proprietorships, partnerships and LLCs, but not to corporations.
- 6. Please review the form prior to submission to ensure that all items have been completed, all attachments are included, that the form has been signed and dated, and that the required registration fee of either \$100.00 or \$300.000 has been enclosed or otherwise submitted.

Specific Instructions:

Section I, General Information

Section I-A requires the complete legal name of your company, as you want it printed upon your certificate. The name must be consistent with incorporation or LLC documentation provided to the State of New Mexico. Please include the state-of-issue when a driver's license number is provided.

Section I-E requires full name, address, and telephone number.

Section I-F requires listing of prior business names, addresses and dates of operation, if applicable. If necessary, attach a separate page to the form. Remember, this section is referring only to previous *commercial* hauling of solid waste or the hauling of *special* waste.

Section I-H requires that you check all applicable blocks:

- "MSW" refers to municipal solid waste, which for purposes of this registration form includes all types of solid waste except special waste.
- If you check "Construction & Demolition Only," your registration will restrict your hauling operations to C&D—you will not be authorized to commercially transport MSW.

"Special Waste" refers to a category of wastes identified in the SWR, 20.9.2.7.S(13) NMAC, which have unique handling, transportation or disposal requirements. If you check this block, you must complete Section IV of the registration form. You will be required to submit a contingency plan and clean-up kit content listing, in addition to the training outline required in Section III-K.

Section II, Insurance

Sections II-A, II-B and II-C must be accurately completed. The provided information must pertain to <u>vehicle liability insurance</u>. While a copy of your insurance policy (or summary) may be attached to the form, the requested information should also be indicated upon the registration form. If necessary, attach a separate page.

Section III, Operations

Section III-A indicates the anticipated start up date for new operators. If your company currently transports solid waste, but has temporarily suspended operations to acquire this registration, please indicate "upon registration approval."

Section III-C is applicable only when your company provides temporary storage containers to customers, such as dumpsters, roll-off containers or infectious waste rigid containers. If you provide such containers, indicate the approximate number in service, type of container—to include the type of lid or cover utilized, and the maximum volume of waste the containers hold. If necessary, attach a separate page to the form.

Section III-E is an estimate of the shortest and longest distance (in miles) that your trucks will travel from the point of collection to the primary disposal facility. If your operations are truly statewide, you may simply indicate "statewide," but you must include disposal facilities from locations that would facilitate statewide collection operations.

Section III-F must include the full name of each facility, telephone number, physical address, and state-issued permit or registration number. The facility operator will be able to provide you with the information. If necessary, attach a separate page. This section is critical to registration approval.

Section III-G, if this option is requested and used, will subject the hauler to more frequent inspection by the Department and the necessary Operations Plan and Site Map shall be thoroughly reviewed prior to approval. Compliance with the Operations Plan and facility layout indicated upon the Site Map will be strictly enforced.

Section III-H must identify all vehicles and trailers used in the transportation of solid waste. Please include the make, model, year, and type of vehicle or trailer, the maximum volume of waste each vehicle or trailer holds, and the type of cover system to be utilized (e.g., tarping, tarp with plastic underliner, enclosed carrying compartment). If necessary, attach a separate page.

Section III-I must indicate the location where vehicle maintenance will be performed. Such an area must not be zoned "residential." Please include the full address and zoning code (or indicate the lack of zoning) for the location. If the location is not subject to zoning restrictions, please include a statement that operation of a vehicle maintenance yard at the location does not violate local ordinances or regulations. If vehicles will be serviced exclusively at commercial repair shops, then so indicate, as it is presumed that commercial businesses are properly zoned.

Section III-J is applicable only to haulers of special waste. For example, a hauler of regulated asbestos waste would indicate that the asbestos waste will be properly handled, wetted, containerized, labeled,

manifested and transported in accordance with the SWR, 20.9.8.10, 20.9.8.11, 20.9.8.12 and 20.9.8.19 NMAC; and transported by a vehicle with an enclosed carrying compartment.

Section III-K requires attachment of the training manual or outline of the training provided to drivers and crew for differentiating between hazardous waste, special waste, and other solid waste. The training should, at a minimum, discuss the types of unauthorized waste and list indicators of possible unauthorized waste. Special waste haulers should emphasize the importance of disposal only at facilities permitted to receive the special waste. The manual/outline need not be exhaustive, but must stand on its own as a legitimate training tool. Exceptions to this requirement will be minimal, usually only for special waste haulers transporting one type of waste exclusively (e.g., regulated asbestos waste only, petroleum contaminated soil only). ***This document must be signed and dated by the company's owner, operator or authorized designate.

Section III-L requires submission of copies of all vehicle registrations, trailer registrations and the driver's licenses. The registrations and licenses must be current and legible. Alternately, you may submit a list identifying the vehicles and drivers, certifying that the registrations and licenses have been reviewed and were found to be current. The letter, if utilized, should be on the hauler's letterhead and signed by the hauler's owner, operator or authorized designate.

Section IV, Special Waste Haulers

Section IV-A requires the submission of a contingency plan, which must address the actions the driver or crew will take in the event of a release of the transported waste in a location other than the disposal facility. The plan need not be exhaustive, but must stand alone and address initial emergency response actions, the assessment of potential risk to the driver and the public, how the release will be contained and/or remediated, the use of PPE and clean-up kit items (e.g., H₂O, tarping, shovels, gloves), and contain a list of emergency telephone numbers and agencies. The contingency plan must be tailored to the type(s) of waste to be transported. The plan must be signed and dated by the company's owner, operator or authorized designate.

Section IV-A also requires the submission of a list indicating the contents of the clean-up kit, which is typically included as a section of the contingency plan. The actual clean up kit must be kept inside the collection vehicles during all hauling operations.

Section IV-B must be completed by all special waste haulers. Check all that apply. As a reminder, the training outline, contingency plan and clean-up kit must sufficiently address all of the type(s) of special waste being transported.

Section V, Certifications

Other than the question in Section V-A, answering in the affirmative does not necessarily preclude the issuance of a hauler registration; however, additional information will be required and the Department may delay a determination regarding approval of the hauling registration.

Section VI, Registration Fee

Until the registration fee has been received by the Department, processing of the Commercial Hauler & Special Waste Hauler Registration Form shall not commence.

Section VII (Attestation by Signature and Date)

Section VII must be signed, dated, and include the title of the signing party. The title is important, as only the hauler's owner, operator, or authorized designate may sign the registration form.