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ASBESTOS DISPOSAL FACT SHEET 

 
I. Asbestos is a known carcinogen and may cause disease (cancers) up to 20-30 years from 

date(s) of exposure, primarily through inhalation of asbestos fibers. 

 

II. According to the Solid Waste Act and the New Mexico Solid Waste Rules (“SWR”), 

20.9.2 – 20.9.10 NMAC, “regulated asbestos waste” is a “special waste” in New Mexico. 

 

III. Information regarding the New Mexico Environment Department (“NMED") and its 

rules may be found on the website at http://www.nmenv.state.nm.us.  The SWR may be 

reviewed and/or downloaded at http://www.nmenv.state.nm.us/swb/CurrentRules.htm. 

 

IV. “Regulated asbestos waste” is a special waste – see 20.9.2.7.S(13)(c) NMAC. 

 

 20.9.2.7.S(13) NMAC 

 “Special waste” means solid waste that has unique handling, transportation, or disposal 

 requirements to assure protection of the environment and the public health, welfare and 

 safety, including: 

  (a) treated formerly characteristic hazardous wastes (TFCH); 

  (b) packing house and killing plant offal; 

  (c) regulated asbestos waste; 

  (d) ash; 

  (e) infectious waste; 

  (f) sludge, except; sludge that is land applied under 40 CFR Part 503 as  

   intermediate or final cover at a landfill and meets the requirements of  

   Subpart B of 40 CFR Part 503; 

  (g) industrial solid waste that, unless specially handled or disposed, may harm 

   the environment or endanger the public health or safety; 

  (h) spill of a chemical substance or commercial product that, unless specially  

   handled or disposed, may harm the environment or endanger the public  

   health or safety; and 

  (i) petroleum contaminated soils, that have a sum of benzene, toluene,  

   ethylbenzene, and xylene isomer concentrations of greater than 50   

   mg/kg, or benzene individually greater than 10 mg/kg, or a total   

   petroleum hydrocarbon concentration of greater than 100 mg/kg. 
 

 20.9.2.7.A(10) NMAC 

 "Asbestos waste" means a solid waste that contains more than 1 percent asbestos: 

  (a) "friable asbestos material" means any material containing more than 1  

   percent asbestos, that, when dry, can be crumbled, pulverized, or reduced  

   to powder by hand pressure; 

  (b) "category I non-friable asbestos containing material" means asbestos  

   containing packings, gaskets, resilient floor covering, and asphalt roofing  

   products containing more than 1 percent asbestos; 
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  (c) "category II non-friable asbestos containing material" means any material,  

   excluding category I non-friable asbestos containing material, containing  

   more than one percent asbestos, that, when dry, cannot be crumbled,  

   pulverized , or reduced to powder by hand; and 

  (d) "regulated asbestos waste" means friable asbestos material; category I  

   non-friable asbestos containing material that has become friable; category  

   I non-friable asbestos containing material that will be or has been   

   subjected to sanding, grinding, cutting or abrading; or category II non- 

   friable asbestos containing material that has a high probability of   

   becoming or has become broken, crumbled, pulverized, or reduced to  

   powder by the forces expected to act on the material in the course of  

   excavation, renovation, demolition, storage, transportation, or while  

   exposed during disposal operations. 

 

V. Regulated asbestos waste must be transported by a registered commercial or special 

waste hauler authorized to transport this type of special waste – see 20.9.3.31-39, 20.9.5.14, 

20.9.8.8, 20.9.8.9.A and C, 20.9.8.10, 20.9.8.11, 20.9.8.12 and 20.9.8.19 NMAC. 

 

 20.9.3.31 NMAC – Registration of Commercial Haulers and Haulers of Special Waste 

  A. Commercial haulers of solid waste and any haulers that transport special  

   waste shall register with the department 30 days prior to beginning   

   operations and every five years thereafter, and shall submit the following  

   information: 

   (1) the name, address, and telephone number of the operation for  

    which registration is sought, and the name, address, telephone  

    number, date of birth, driver's license number, and social security  

    number of the owner and operator, unless the owner and operator  

    are public entities or are a publicly held corporation that has on file 

    and in effect with the federal securities and exchange commission  

    a registration statement required under 15 U.S.C. Section 77e (c); 

   (2) the anticipated startup date, hours of operation,  

    and days of collection; 

   (3) a list of types of storage containers required for residences,   

    commercial, institutional and industrial establishments to be  

    served; 

   (4) location of vehicle maintenance yard; 

   (5) certification that drivers, trailers and vehicles are, and will   

    continue to be, properly licensed or registered; 

   (6) means of controlling and mitigating odors; 

   (7) the transport distance from the nearest and farthest points of  

    collection to the solid waste facility where the waste will be  

    disposed; 

   (8) any transfer requirements; 

   (9) location of transfer station(s) to be used, if any; 

   (10) the name and location of any storage or collection or solid waste  

    disposal facility to be used, and including;  
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    (a) the size and type of all storage and collection facilities to be 

     used; and 

    (b) methods use to mitigate odor and litter from any storage  

     and collection facilities to be used; 

   (11) an outline of proposed training for drivers and crew to be able to  

    differentiate between hazardous waste, special waste and other  

    solid waste;  

   (12) certification that the waste identification training program will be  

    implemented; 

   (13) a statement whether any of the owners or operators have been  

    fined for violation of any environmental laws of any state or the  

    United States (for owners or operators that are public entities or  

    publicly held corporations,  this statement may be limited to fines  

    for violations within the last 5 years and within the state of New  

    Mexico);  

   (14) a statement whether any of the owners or operators have had any  

    permit or registration revoked or permanently suspended for cause  

    under the environmental laws of any state or the United States (for  

    owners or operators that are public entities or publicly held   

    corporations, this statement may be limited to revocations or  

    suspensions within the last 5 years and within the state of New  

    Mexico); and 

   (15) [evidence of financial responsibility, as a warrant is no longer  

    required]. 

  B. All haulers that transport special waste, in addition to the requirements of  

   Subsection A of this section, shall: 

   (1) register with the department on a form provided by the   

    department; 

   (2) submit the exact locations and permit number(s) of solid waste  

    facilities to be used; 

   (3) submit a contingency plan to address potential emergency   

    situations to the department for approval; and 

   (4) submit a list of contents of clean-up kits to be carried in each  

    vehicle used for hauling. 

 

 20.9.3.32 NMAC – Commercial Hauler Registration Procedures 

  A. The registration procedures in 20.9.3.31-36 NMAC apply to commercial  

   haulers of solid waste. 

  B. Upon receipt of an application for registration, the department shall review 

   the application to determine if additional information is necessary or shall  

   deem the application complete.  If the department determines that   

   additional information is necessary, it shall notify the applicant in writing; 

  C. Within 60 days of receipt of a request for additional information regarding 

   any commercial hauler registration application, the owner or operator shall 

   submit the information requested by the department, or the secretary may  

   deny the registration application without prejudice. 
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 20.9.3.33 NMAC – Commercial Hauler Registration Issuance 

  A. Within 30 days after an application for a commercial hauler registration is  

   deemed complete, the secretary shall issue the registration, issue the  

   registration with terms and conditions, or deny the registration. 

  B. The secretary shall issue a registration if the owner or operator   

   demonstrates that the requirements of 20.9.2 – 20.9.10 NMAC and the  

   Solid Waste Act are met and that neither a hazard to public health, welfare 

   or the environment nor undue risk to property will result. 

  C. The terms and conditions of a registration shall be specifically identified  

   by the secretary. 

 

 20.9.3.34 NMAC – Registration Denial, Revocation, or Suspension 

  A. The secretary may deny, revoke, or suspend a commercial hauler   

   registration on the basis of information in the application or evidence in  

   the administrative record, or both, after taking into consideration the  

   seriousness of the violation, any good faith efforts to comply with the  

   applicable requirements and other relevant factors. 

  B. Causes for denying, revoking, or suspending a registration include a  

   finding that the applicant or owner or operator has: 

   (1) knowingly misrepresented a material fact in the application, or at  

    any time after issuance of the registration; 

   (2) refused to disclose or failed to disclose the information required  

    under the provisions of 20.9.2 - 20.9.10 NMAC or the Solid Waste 

    Act; 

   (3) exhibited a history of willful disregard for the environmental laws  

    of any state or the United States; 

   (4) had any permit revoked or permanently suspended for cause under  

    the environmental laws of any state or the United States; or 

   (5) violated a term or condition of the registration, any requirement of  

    20.9.2 – 20.9.10 NMAC, or any requirement of the Solid Waste  

    Act. 

  C. If the department recommends denial of a commercial hauler registration,  

   notice shall be provided to the applicant by registered mail.  The applicant  

   may request a hearing on the registration denial by filing a written request  

   for hearing with the hearing clerk within 30 days of receipt of the notice.   

   A request for hearing shall be treated as a hearing determination and the  

   hearing conducted pursuant to 20.1.4 NMAC.  If no request for hearing is  

   filed within 30 days of receipt of the notice, the recommended denial shall  

   become a final action of the secretary. 

  D. A commercial hauler registration may be revoked or suspended in   

   accordance with the procedures set forth in 20.1.5 NMAC, Adjudicatory  

   Procedures - Environment Department.  Construction, modification and  

   interim operation, if any, shall cease upon the effective date of the   

   revocation or suspension.  
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 20.9.3.35 NMAC – Effect of Registration 

  A. Any terms or conditions of the registration shall be enforceable to the  

   same extent as a regulation of the board.  

  B. The existence of a registration issued under 20.9.2 - 20.9.10 NMAC shall  

   not constitute a defense to a violation of 20.9.2 - 20.9.10 NMAC or the  

   Solid Waste Act.  

 

 20.9.3.36 NMAC – Registration Renewal 

  A. A commercial hauler shall renew its registration every five years.  To  

   renew a registration, the commercial hauler shall file a complete renewal  

   application no later than 30 days prior to the expiration date of the   

   registration.  A registration renewal application shall include the same  

   information required in 20.9.3.31 NMAC, and in addition provide a  

   complete description of its compliance history and any other information  

   requested by the secretary.  

  B. A registered commercial hauler may continue to operate under the terms  

   and conditions of the existing registration until the registration renewal is  

   issued or denied provided that:  

   (1) the owner and operator are in compliance with the existing   

    registration, 20.9.2 - 20.9.10 NMAC, and any applicable federal  

    regulations;  

   (2) a complete renewal application was submitted in a timely fashion  

    in accordance with this section; and 

   (3) the owner or operator adequately submits any requested additional  

    information by the deadline specified by the secretary. 

 

 20.9.3.37 NMAC – Registration Expiration 

  A. A commercial hauler registration shall expire five years from the date of  

   issuance of the registration. 

  B. A commercial hauler registration shall terminate upon any change of  

   owners or operators of the registered commercial hauler, and the new  

   owner or operator shall obtain a new registration prior to operation. 

 

 20.9.3.38 NMAC – Confidentiality of Information 

  A. Permit applicants, owners or operators, or commercial haulers who submit 

   information to the department may claim such information as confidential.  

   Any claim of confidentiality must be asserted at the time of submittal. 

  B. To claim confidentiality of information in a submittal, the submitter must  

   clearly mark each page in the document on which the submitter claims  

   there is confidential information, and submit to the department a written  

   description of the basis for the claim of confidentiality at the time of  

   submission.  The department shall review the claim of confidentiality  

   based on the written submittal and determine whether the information may 

   be maintained as confidential pursuant to the Inspection of Public Records 

   Act, NMSA 1978, Sections 14-2-1, et seq.  If the department determines  
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   that information in a submittal is confidential, the department may require  

   submission of redacted copies of the submittal for the public record. 

  C. If no claim of confidentiality is made at the time of submission, any such  

   claims are deemed waived and the department may make the information  

   available to the public without further notice. 

  D. Information that is determined by the department to be confidential may  

   be disclosed to officers, employees, or authorized representatives of the  

   United States concerned with implementing RCRA, or when relevant in  

   any proceedings under the Solid Waste Act or this chapter. 

 

 20.9.3.39 NMAC – Fee Schedule 

  A. Fees are required from applicants for all permit applications,   

   modifications, and applications for permit renewals.  Fees shall be paid by 

   the applicant at the time of application and are non-refundable.  Fees for  

   individual facility types shall be cumulative if more than one type is  

   included in the permit application. 

  B. For a municipal or special waste landfill which receives, based on the  

   projected operational rate: 

   1. 20 tons or less of waste per day, annual average, the permit   

    application fee shall be $6,000; 

   2. more than 20 tons of waste per day, annual average, the permit  

    application fee shall be $10,000; 

   3. special waste, in addition to the facility permit application fee, an  

    additional $1000 per type of special waste, up to $10,000 shall be  

    paid. 

  C. For a construction and demolition landfill, the permit application fee shall  

   be $5,000. 

  D. For a processing facility, the permit application fee shall be $5,000. 

  E. For a transformation facility, the permit application fee shall be $10,000. 

  F. For a transfer station, the permit application fee shall be $5,000. 

  G. For a recycling facility or composting facility that accepts solid waste, the  

   permit application fee shall be $2,000. 

  H. For a commercial [or special waste] hauler registration, the registration fee 

   shall be $100 if the hauler registers two trucks or fewer and hauls no  

   special waste, and shall be $300 if the hauler registers three trucks or more 

   or hauls any special waste. 

  I. Fees for permit modifications shall be half of the stated permit application  

   fee for that type facility.   

  J. Fees for permit renewals shall be the same as for new facilities. 

  K. The fee for resubmittal of an application that has been denied without  

   prejudice shall be half of the stated permit application fee for that type of  

   facility. 

  L. Fees shall be paid by check or money order, payable to "New Mexico  

   Environment Department." 

 

 20.9.5.14 NMAC – Commercial Hauler Operating Requirements 
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  A. Commercial haulers shall: 

   (1) collect and transport waste so as to prevent environmental, safety,  

    and public health or welfare hazards and nuisances; 

   (2) utilize equipment that is designed, constructed and operated so as  

    to be leak-proof and protective of human health and safety and the  

    environment; 

   (3) cover or enclose the waste to prevent littering during   

    transportation; 

   (4) keep collection and transportation equipment in a clean condition  

    through the use of sufficient washings and cleanouts; 

   (5) only transport waste to a facility that is permitted or registered  

    under 20.9.2 - 20.9.10 NMAC or that is authorized by another  

    government;  provided that this is not to be construed to limit  

    initial sorting of solid waste on site; 

   (6) immediately clean up any solid waste spilled during collection or  

    hauling operations; 

   (7) conspicuously label all solid waste collection vehicles with the  

    company, municipality, or county department name; 

   (8) conspicuously label all solid waste collection vehicles with the  

    environment department registration number; 

   (9) take reasonable measures to assure that unauthorized wastes are  

    not accepted; and 

   (10) if hauling special waste, carry a contingency plan and clean-up kit  

    as approved pursuant to Paragraphs (3) and (4) of Subsection B of  

    20.9.3.31 NMAC. 

  B. Commercial haulers shall provide prior notification to the department, in  

   writing, of any major changes in collection operations or disposal facility  

   being used.  A major change includes an addition of a type of waste, a  

   change in ownership, a change in location and a change in the disposal  

   facility being used.  In the case of emergency, where prior notice cannot  

   be given, written notice shall be given within 48 hours after the change. 

  D. Commercial haulers shall maintain an operating record documenting  

   activities for at least the preceding three year period.  The operating record 

   shall include: 

   (1) type and weight or volume of solid waste hauled; 

   (2) state, county, and municipality in which the solid waste originated; 

    and 

   (3) solid waste facilities utilized. 

 

VI. Special Waste Requirements – Asbestos waste [including both regulated asbestos waste 

and asbestos-containing waste to be transported and disposed as non-regulated asbestos waste] 

must be handled, containerized, labeled, stored, transported and disposed in accordance with all 

applicable provisions of 20.9.8.8 – 20.9.8.12, and 20.9.8.19 NMAC. 

 

 20.9.8.8 NMAC – General 
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 The generator of a special waste shall assure that the special waste is disposed of in a 

 solid waste facility permitted to accept the special waste or treated at a permitted facility, 

 prior to disposal, to render it a non-special waste. 

 

 20.9.8.9 NMAC – Restrictions 

  A. No solid waste facility shall accept special waste unless the facility owner  

   or operator has been issued a permit to accept that type of special waste  

   for disposal, transfer, processing, or transformation. 

  C. A hauler of special waste shall not deliver special waste to any place or  

   person except to a facility that has been issued a permit to accept that type  

   of special waste for disposal, transfer, processing or transformation. 

 

 20.9.8.10 NMAC – General Requirements for Special Waste 

  A. Any person who stores a special waste shall assure that the special waste  

   is stored at designated special waste storage areas meeting the   

   requirements of 20.9.8 NMAC. 

  B. No person who stores special waste shall store the waste for longer than  

   90 days from the date the waste is placed in storage awaiting   

   transportation, processing, or final disposal, unless otherwise approved by  

   the department… 

  C. A generator of special waste shall assure that all containers of special  

   waste when deemed full and placed in storage are clearly labeled or  

   marked, indicating the name and address of the generator, contents, date  

   placed in storage and potential health, safety, and environmental hazards  

   associated with the waste. 

  D. A generator of special waste shall assure that all containers of special  

   waste that are prepared for transportation are clearly  labeled or marked,  

   indicating the name and address of the generator, contents, and potential  

   health, safety, and environmental hazards associated with the waste. 

  E. A hauler of special waste shall assure that all containers of special waste  

   are clearly labeled or marked prior to transportation, indicating the name  

   and address of the generator, contents, date transported, and potential  

   health, safety, and environmental hazards associated with the waste. 

  F. Any generator or hauler of special waste shall assure that a manifest in  

   accordance with 20.9.8.19 NMAC accompanies each load of special waste 

   originating in or to be disposed in New Mexico; 

  G. A hauler of special waste shall carry an appropriate clean-up kit in each  

   vehicle used for hauling. 

 

 20.9.8.11 NMAC – Required Analysis 

  A. The generator of a special waste shall document the physical and chemical 

   characteristics of all special wastes for storage, transportation or disposal,  

   by means of: 

   (1) records of the results of analyses performed in accordance with this 

    section as applicable; or 
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   (2) detailed descriptions of the generator's knowledge of specific  

   wastes, including process, source and chemical and physical properties; 

   (3) or both. 

  B. All laboratory analyses shall be performed by a laboratory that follows  

   U.S. EPA quality assurance and quality control procedures in accordance  

   with U.S. EPA approved analytical methods or such other methods  

   acceptable to the department. 

  C. Representative sample(s) shall be analyzed in conformance with the  

   following parameters as appropriate: 

   (1) ignitability characteristic as defined in 40 CFR Part 261; 

   (2) corrosivity characteristic as defined in 40 CFR Part 261; 

   (3) reactivity characteristic as defined in 40 CFR Part 261; 

   (4) toxicity characteristic as defined by U.S. EPA test method 1311:  

    toxicity characteristic leaching procedure (TCLP); 

   (5) paint filter liquids test as defined by U.S. EPA Test Method 9095; 

   (6) additional parameters as identified by the department; 

   (7) RCRA Subtitle C listed wastes as defined in 40 CFR Part 261; and 

   (8) Toxic Substance Control Act (TSCA), Federal Insecticide,   

    Fungicide and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA), or other applicable  

    statutes. 

 

 20.9.8.12 NMAC – Asbestos Waste Management Requirements 

  A. The generator of asbestos waste shall prevent public access to asbestos  

   wastes at the point of generation.  Haulers of asbestos waste shall prevent  

   public access to asbestos waste during transportation. 

  B. Generators of asbestos waste shall determine whether the asbestos waste is 

   regulated asbestos waste.  If it is not regulated asbestos waste, and it is to  

   be disposed as non-regulated asbestos waste, the generator shall assure  

   that the asbestos waste is handled in a manner to prevent the asbestos  

   waste from becoming regulated asbestos waste.  The handling of non- 

   regulated asbestos waste shall include measures to assure that any   

   category I non-friable asbestos containing material is not subjected to  

   sanding, grinding, cutting or abrading and that any category II non-friable  

   asbestos containing material is not subjected to forces expected to break,  

   crumble, pulverize or reduce the material to powder during the course of  

   excavation, renovation, demolition, or storage, and that it is disposed at a  

   permitted landfill.  If the waste is regulated asbestos waste it shall be  

   disposed at a landfill permitted to accept regulated asbestos waste and  

   shall be handled accordingly. 

  C. If non-regulated asbestos waste is to be disposed as non-regulated asbestos 

   waste, the hauler of non-regulated asbestos waste shall handle the waste in 

   a manner to prevent the asbestos waste from becoming regulated asbestos  

   waste.  The handling of non-regulated asbestos waste by a hauler shall  

   include measures to assure that any category I non-friable asbestos   

   containing material is not subjected to abrading and that any category II  

   non-friable asbestos containing material is not subjected to forces   
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   expected to break, crumble, pulverize or reduce the material to powder  

   during the course of storage, transportation, or while exposed during  

   disposal operations.  The hauler shall notify the landfill operator that the  

   load contains non-regulated asbestos waste that must be disposed of in a  

   manner to prevent breakage and release of fibers while exposed during  

   disposal operations. 

  D. A landfill that accepts non-regulated asbestos waste shall assure that the  

   asbestos containing material is not broken, abraded, crumbled, pulverized  

   or reduced to powder while exposed during disposal operations.  The non- 

   regulated asbestos waste shall be covered with at least six inches of non- 

   waste containing material prior to compaction. 

  E. The generator of regulated asbestos waste shall properly wet and   

   containerize the waste.  No hauler shall accept or transport regulated  

   asbestos waste unless the waste has been properly wetted and   

   containerized. 

   (1) Regulated asbestos waste is properly wetted when its moisture  

    content prevents fiber release. 

   (2) Regulated asbestos waste is properly containerized when it is  

    placed in a plastic bag of 6-mil or thicker, sealed in such a way to  

    be leak-proof, and the amount of void space or air in the bag is  

    minimized.  Asbestos waste slurries shall be packaged in leak- 

    proof drums if they are too heavy for the plastic bag containers.   

    Regulated asbestos waste may also be containerized by double  

    bagging, using plastic-lined cardboard containers, plastic-lined  

    metal containers, or the use of vacuum trucks for the transport of  

    slurry. 

    (a) Pipes or other facility components that are removed   

     as sections without first removing the asbestos shall  

     be wrapped in a minimum of 6-mil plastic sufficient  

     to prevent asbestos fibers from escaping. 

    (b) The hauler shall ensure that regulated asbestos   

     waste is properly contained in a manner to prevent   

     asbestos fibers from escaping and with appropriate   

     labels, and that the outsides of the containers are not  

     contaminated with asbestos debris adhering to the   

     containers.  The transporter shall not accept nor   

     transport regulated asbestos waste if there is  a   

     reason to believe that the condition of the asbestos   

     waste may allow fiber release. 

   (3) The hauler shall ensure that the regulated asbestos waste containers 

    are loaded into the transport vehicle in a manner which prevents  

    the breaking of the containers.  The hauler shall ensure that the  

    asbestos waste containers are transferred at the disposal site in such 

    a manner to prevent fiber release. 

    (a) If the hauler discovers that the regulated asbestos   

     waste is not properly containerized in conformance   
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     with Paragraph (2) of this subsection, the hauler   

     shall immediately clean up the contaminated area   

     and repair or reseal the container by appropriate   

     methods.  The department shall be notified of any   

     release within 24 hours.  The transporter shall   

     ensure that all containers in his possession are of   

     adequate design and condition to prevent the    

     release of fibers during transport. 

    (b) Vehicles used for transport of containerized    

     regulated asbestos waste shall have an enclosed   

     carrying compartment or utilize a canvas or plastic   

     lined covering sufficient to contain the transported   

     waste, prevent damage to containers, and prevent   

     fiber release.  All surfaces of vehicles and other   

     asbestos handling equipment and facilities shall be   

     maintained free from the accumulation of dusts and   

     waste containing asbestos and shall have a smooth,   

     non-absorbent finish.  No vehicle which uses   

     compactors to reduce waste volume may be used to   

     transport asbestos waste.  Vacuum trucks used to   

     transport waste slurry shall be inspected to ensure   

     that liquid is not leaking from the truck. 

    (c) The hauler of the regulated asbestos waste shall notify the  

     landfill operator that the load contains regulated asbestos  

     waste. 

  F. All regulated asbestos containers, to include individually wrapped facility  

   components or pipes, shall have a warning label specified by the U.S. EPA 

   or the occupational safety and health administration (OSHA).  Labels  

   shall be printed in both English and Spanish. 

  G. The operator of a landfill permitted to accept regulated asbestos waste  

   shall: 

   (1) inspect the loads at the time of disposal at the landfill to verify that  

    the regulated asbestos waste is properly contained and labeled; 

   (2) if the wastes are not properly containerized and the landfill   

    operator accepts the load, thoroughly soak the asbestos with a  

    water spray prior to unloading, rinse out the truck, and   

    immediately cover the wastes with non-waste containing material  

    to prevent fiber release, prior to compacting the waste in the  

    landfill; 

   (3) prepare a separate excavation to receive only regulated asbestos  

    wastes; the excavation shall be as narrow as possible while   

    complying with all occupational safety and health administration  

    (OSHA) regulations and standards; 

   (4) align the excavation perpendicular to the prevailing winds; 

   (5) off-load asbestos containers within the excavation with sufficient  

    care to avoid breaking the containers; 
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   (6) completely cover the containerized waste within 18 hours with a  

    minimum of six inches of non-waste containing material; 

   (7) completely cover improperly containerized regulated asbestos  

    waste with six inches of non-waste containing material   

    immediately; and 

   (8) not compact the regulated asbestos waste until it is completely  

    covered with six inches of non-waste containing material. 

  H. If, at any time during the generation or transportation of non-regulated  

   asbestos waste the waste material is subjected to handling that renders it to 

   be regulated asbestos waste, the generator or hauler shall immediately  

   begin handling the regulated asbestos waste according the requirements of  

   this part, and shall dispose of the regulated asbestos waste in a landfill or  

   monofill permitted to accept such waste. 

  I. When closing a cell containing regulated asbestos waste, the landfill  

   operator shall: 

   (1) cover with an additional 30 inches of compacted non-waste  

    containing material to provide a 36-inch final cover to the original  

    grade; and 

   (2) implement measures as necessary to control erosion and rodent  

    intrusion. 

  J. The operator of a landfill that accepts regulated asbestos shall provide  

   barriers adequate to control public access.  At a minimum, the owner or  

   operator shall: 

   (1) limit access to the regulated asbestos management site to no more  

    than two entrances by gates that can be locked when left   

    unattended and by fencing adequate to deter access by the general  

    public: and 

   (2) place warning signs at the entrance and at intervals no greater than  

    100 feet along the perimeter of the sections where regulated  

    asbestos waste is deposited.  The sign shall read as follows in  

    English and other languages as approved by the department: 

    ASBESTOS WASTE DISPOSAL SITE 

    DO NOT CREATE DUST 

    BREATHING ASBESTOS IS HAZARDOUS 

    TO YOUR HEALTH. 

    The signs shall be posted in such a manner and location that a  

    person can easily read the legend and conform to the requirements  

    of 20 inches by 14 inches upright format signs specified in 29 CFR 

    1910.145(d)(4) (or equivalent regulation adopted by the board  

    under the Occupational Health and Safety Act); spacing between  

    any two lines shall be at least equal to the height of the upper of  

    the two lines; and 

   (3) have at least one employee who has received at least 32 hours of  

    course work in a U.S. EPA certified training course which deals  

    with the identification, hazards and management of asbestos  
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    wastes.  An employee with this training shall be present at all times 

    when asbestos wastes are being disposed. 

 

VII. Regulated asbestos waste must be manifested using a Special Waste Manifest – see 

20.9.8.19 NMAC. 

 

 20.9.8.19 NMAC – Manifest Requirements 

  A. Each generator or his authorized agent shall prepare a manifest to   

   accompany each load of special waste, including: 

   (1) the name, address and telephone number of the generator and  

    origin of the special waste; 

   (2) the name, address and telephone number of all haulers in the order  

    each will be transporting the waste; 

   (3) the name, site address, telephone number and identification   

    number of the solid waste facility to which the waste is to be  

    delivered; 

   (4) the type and proper name of waste being shipped; 

   (5) the total weight or volume of waste prior to shipment from the  

    generator; 

   (6) the type and number of containers in the shipment; and 

   (7) any special handling instructions. 

  B. The generator or his authorized agent shall sign the manifest and obtain  

   the signature of the initial transporter and date of acceptance on the  

   manifest, and shall retain a copy of the manifest.  Each hauler shall obtain  

   the signature of the individual who accepts the special waste for storage,  

   further transportation or disposal, retain a copy of the manifest, and  

   provide the original manifest to the next hauler or solid waste facility  

   operator who receives the special waste. 

  C. The manifest shall accurately reflect the required information and shall be  

   signed and dated by the generator and each hauler of the special waste,  

   and by the solid waste facility owner or operator, acknowledging delivery, 

   weight or volume, and receipt of the special waste.  All signatories shall  

   be duly authorized agents of their organizations.  The generator shall keep  

   a copy of the originating manifest for three years. 

  D. Upon discovery of any significant discrepancy including, but not limited  

   to, factual misrepresentation on the manifest, irregularities in   

   transportation, discharges, or any unauthorized action in regard to the  

   shipment, delivery, or disposal of the solid waste, the person discovering  

   the discrepancy shall notify the department, the generator, hauler, and the  

   solid waste facility operator in writing within 24 hours. 

  E. Within 30 days of receipt of a special waste shipment at the solid waste  

   facility, the owner or operator shall send the original signed copy of the  

   manifest to the generator, acknowledging receipt of the shipment.  The  

   facility owner or operator shall list any discrepancies on the manifest.   

   Other methods of return of the manifest may be allowed upon specific  

   approval from the secretary. 
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  F. A copy of the manifest shall be retained by each hauler, and solid waste  

   facility operator for their operating records.  The generator shall retain for  

   a period of three years both the originating copy and the returned original  

   manifest signed by the solid waste facility owner or operator and all  

   haulers transporting the waste.  Haulers shall retain a copy of the manifest  

   for a period of three years. 

  G. Copies of the manifest shall be retained by the facility owner or operator  

   throughout any post-closure period. 

 

If you have any specific questions regarding the disposal of asbestos-containing waste (including 

regulated asbestos waste) or if you determine that your company or governmental entity may 

require a commercial or special waste hauler registration, you may visit the SWB’s website at 

http://www.nmenv.state.nm.us/swb or you may contact the SWB’s enforcement manager: 

 

George W. Akeley Jr. (Chuck) 

Manager, Enforcement Section 

Solid Waste Bureau 

New Mexico Environment Department 

5500 San Antonio Drive NE 

Albuquerque, New Mexico 87109 

Telephone:  (505) 222-9585 

E-Mail:  chuck.akeley@state.nm.us 


