STATE OF NEW MEXICO WATER QUALITY CONTROL COMMISSION

1190 St. Francis Drive, Room N2150 Post Office Box 26110 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87502

Constituent Agencies

Telephone (505) 827-2425 Fax (505) 827-0310

Environment Department Office of State Engineer

Game and Fish Department

Oil Conservation Division

Department of Agriculture

Department of Health

State Parks Division

Soil and Water Conservation Commission

Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources

Municipal/County Representative

Members-at Large

Meeting Minutes New Mexico Water Quality Control Commission Regular Meeting January 8, 2014

Porter Hall

1st Floor-Wendell Chino Building, 1220 South St. Francis Drive, Santa Fe

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Butch Tongate Larry Dominguez Dan Brooks DL Sanders **Brett Woods Hoyt Pattison** John Waters **Edward Vigil**

Scott Dawson Jane DeRose-Bamman

Clark Taylor

Chair, Environment Department Department of Agriculture Department of Game & Fish Office of the State Engineer

State Parks Division Member-at Large Member-at-Large Member-at-Large

Oil Conservation Division Water Utility Authority

Soil and Water Conservation Commission

OTHERS PRESENT:

Sean Cunniff, New Mexico Attorney General's Office Wade Jackson, Economic Development Department Felicia Orth, Hearing Officer Pam Castañeda, Administrator Please see attached sign-in-sheet

The meeting was called to order by Mr. Tongate at 9:04 a.m.

Item 1. Roll Call.

Roll was taken; it was noted that a quorum was present.

Item 2. Approval of Agenda.

Action: Mr. Waters moved Commission adoption of the agenda. Mr. Dominguez

seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 3. Approval of minutes of December 10, 2013 meeting.

Action: Mr. Tongate noted that one correction was needed for Item no. 12 needed

to be changed to item no. 8. Mr. Pattison moved approval of the minutes as amended. Mr. Dawson seconded the motion. Mr. Dominguez and Ms. DeRose-Bamman abstained because they were absent from the meeting.

The motion passed unanimously.

Item 4. Adoption of the Commission's Open Meetings Act Resolution for 2014.

Action: Mr. Cunniff addressed the Open Meetings Act. The resolution he drafted

for 2014 is similar to prior years, except that meeting agendas must now be available 72 hours instead of 24 hours ahead of the meeting. Mr. Waters moved to approve the resolution. Mr. Dawson seconded. The motion

passed unanimously.

Item 5. Update on dairy permitting.

Action: Jerry Schoeppner, Chief of the Ground Water Quality Bureau,

presented an update on dairy permits.

Item 6. Report on status of Nonpoint Source Management Program

revision.

Action: Mr. Franklin, Manager of the Watershed Protection Section gave a

presentation on New Mexico's Nonpoint Source Management

Program and Plan Revision.

Item 7. Presentation of Settlement Agreement in WOCC 13-03 (CO),

New Mexico Environment Department Resource Protection

Division, Complainant, v. John A. Bocella, Respondent

Action: Ms. Hower, attorney for the Environment Department, presented the request to

the Commission to approve the stipulated final order. Ms. Barkley represented Mr. Boccella. Ms. Barkley stated that Mr. Boccella would comply with the Bureau's requests and had signed the settlement agreement. Mr. Vigil moved to

adopt the settlement agreement. Mr. Sanders seconded. The motion passed

unanimously.

Item 8. Presentation of Settlement Agreement in WQCC 13-04 (CO), Westwinds Mobile Home Park, Respondent. Codra Anderson and Kenneth Graham, Owners.

Action: Mr. Atencio and Mr. Schoeppner presented the negotiated settlement agreement. Mr. Wiggley said he is trying to comply with the Bureau's direction. Mr. Dominguez moved to adopt the stipulated final order. Mr. Waters seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 9. Consideration of Motion to Disqualify or Recuse the Commission, and Hearing on Motion to Stay in WQCC 12-01 (R), 20.6.2 NMAC-The Copper Rule.

Action: The Commission's consideration of the Motion to Disqualify or Recuse the Commission and the hearing on the Motion to Stay in WQCC 12-01 (R) was recorded and transcribed by Kathy Townsend of Kathy Townsend Court Reporters. The Transcript is available in the office of the Board Administrator.

Mr. Pattison moved to deny the Motion to Disqualify or Recuse the Commission. Mr. Waters seconded. Roll call was taken; the motion passed unanimously eight to zero with one abstention.

Mr. Pattison moved to deny the Motion to Stay. Mr. Woods seconded. Roll call was taken; the motion passed unanimously ten to zero. Mr. Dominguez moved to authorize the Chair to sign an appropriate Statement of Reasons. Mr. Dawson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 10. Next meeting: March 11, 2014.

Item 11. Adjournment.

The Chair adjourned the meeting at 7:40 p.m.

Commission Chair