STATE OF NEW MEXICO WATER QUALITY CONTROL COMMISSION

1190 St. Francis Drive, Room N2150 Post Office Box 26110 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87502

Telephone (505) 827-2425 Fax (505) 827-0310



Constituent Agencies

Environment Department
Office of State Engineer
Game and Fish Department
Oil Conservation Division
Department of Agriculture
Department of Health
State Parks Division
-Soil and Water Conservation Commission
Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources
Municipal/County Representative
Members-at Large

New Mexico Water Quality Control Commission Meeting

May 12, 2009 9:00 a.m.

Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501

New Mexico State Capitol Building, Rm. 317 490 Old Santa Fe Trail

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Jon Goldstein NMED/Deputy Secretary
Greg Lewis Office of the State Engineer

Cheryl Bada State Parks Division

Larry Dominguez Department of Agriculture

Howard Hutchinson Soil and Water Conservation Commission

Brad Jones Oil Conservation Division

Steve Glass County of Bernalillo, Municipal/County Representative

Peggy Johnson Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources

Mike Sloane Department of Game & Fish

Joseph Chavarria Member-at-Large Maxine Goad Member-at-Large

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Edward Vigil Member-at-Large

OTHERS PRESENT:

Glenn Saums, NMED/SWQB Abraham Franklin, NMED/SWQB

Dennis Romero, Esq. Rick Edelman

Adolfo Mendez, NMED/OGC Tannis Fox, NMED/OGC

Jay Lazarus, Galisteo Geoscience Link Summers

Zachary Shandler, Asst. Atty. Gen. Joyce Medina, NMED

The meeting was called to order by Mr. Goldstein at 9:00 a.m.

Item 1. Roll Call:

The Commission administrator took roll and noted a quorum was present.

Item 2. Approval of Agenda

Mr. Goldstein asked if there were changes in today's agenda. Mr. Mendez, on behalf of the Department as well as on behalf of Mr. Domenici, attorney for Faria Dairy East, requested that the Commission change the order of Items 5 and 6, handling Item 6 first. There were no objections to that revision.

Action: Mr. Dominguez moved Commission approval of the agenda as amended. Mr. Sloane seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 3. Approval of meeting minutes of April 14, 2009.

Action: Mr. Hutchinson moved to approve the minutes. Mr. Lewis

seconded. Because they did not attend the April 14, 2009 meeting, Messrs. Sloane and Chavarria and Ms. Johnson

abstained. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 4. Update on Nonpoint Source Management Program planning Document. Abraham Franklin, NMED/SWQB.

Mr. Franklin briefly explained the process relating to the Surface Water Quality Bureau's submission to the Commission at its June meeting of the Nonpoint Source Management Program Planning Document. He also noted that the public comment period closes on Friday, May 15, 2009.

There was discussion between Mr. Franklin and Commission members regarding the planning document.

Item 6. In the Matter of the Appeal by Sebastiao Faria (Faria Dairy East) of Permit Conditions in re: DP 923, WQCC 08-09 (A); possible Commission decision regarding Faria East's Motion for Order Requiring De Novo Hearing; possible Commission decision in re: Faria Dairy East's Motion to Open Record to Allow Written Submissions. Pete V. Domenici, Jr., Esq., Faria Dairy East; Adolfo Mendez, NMED/OGC.

Mr. Mendez, on behalf of the Department and on behalf of Mr. Domenici, counsel for Faria Dairy East, asked the Commission to postpone any action on the outstanding motions in this matter until its June 9, 2009 meeting to allow the parties time to negotiate a possible settlement.

Action: Mr. Hutchinson moved that the Commission postpone any action in this matter until the Commission's June 9, 2009 meeting. Mr. Sloane

seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 5. Continuation of Appeal Petition for Record Review and possible Commission decision in re: WQCC 07-11 (A) Groundwater Discharge Permit No. 1498, Alta Vista Subdivision, Taos County. Dennis Romero, Esq., for Appellant/Applicant Alta Vista; Tannis Fox, NMED/OGC; Michael Freebourn, Carol Richman, Sheila Shepard and Link Summers, pro se Intervenors.

There was a brief discussion relating to going into executive session. The Commission agreed to do so to deliberate this matter.

Action: Mr. Lewis moved that the Commission go into executive session. Mr. Sloane seconded.

yes yes yes

Hon Cun Tote.
Mr. Jones
Mr. Lewis
Ms. Bada
3.6 (0)

Roll Call Vote:

Mr. Glass yes
Mr. Dominguez yes
Mr. Sloane yes
Mr. Hutchinson yes
Ms. Johnson yes
Ms. Goad yes

Mr. Chavarria yes Mr. Goldstein yes

Mr. Romero asked whether or not he would have the opportunity to respond to the Department's and Intervenors' arguments in this matter.

Ms. Fox objected to Mr. Romero's request on the basis that final arguments had been held.

Mr. Goldstein indicated that Mr. Romero's request would be discussed in executive session.

The Commission went into executive session at 9:40 a.m.

The Commission returned to the public meeting at 10:45 a.m.

Action: Mr. Hutchinson moved that the Commission return to open session. Ms. Bada seconded.

Roll Call Vote:

Mr. Dominguez	yes
Mr. Glass	yes
Ms. Bada	yes
Mr. Lewis	yes
Mr. Jones	yes

Mr. Sloane	yes
Mr. Hutchinson	yes
Ms. Johnson	yes
Ms. Goad	yes
Mr. Chavarria	yes
Mr. Goldstein	yes

Mr. Shandler asked the Chair to acknowledge that only those matters relating to the Appeal Petition in WQCC 07-11 (A) were discussed during the executive session. Mr. Goldstein confirmed that only those matters were discussed. Mr. Shandler additionally noted that the Commissioners who had not been present at the April 14, 2009 meeting had read the record in the case and were qualified and eligible to vote.

Mr. Goldstein stated that this matter would be tabled until the June 9, 2009 meeting. He further stated that the Commission had requested that Mr. Shandler develop and present options for resolving this matter at the June meeting.

Mr. Goldstein additionally stated that Mr. Romero's request to provide additional closing argument was denied.

Item 7. Next public meeting: June 9, 2009, 9:00 a.m. State Capitol Building Room 317, 490 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe.

Item 8. Other business

None.

Item 9. Adjournment

Action: The Chair adjourned the meeting at 11:10 a.m.

Signature on file	
Jon Goldstein, Acting Chair	