1			
_			
2 3		STATE OF NEW MEXICO	
4	WATER (QUALITY CONTROL COMMISSION	
5		1190 St. Francis Drive, Room N2150	
6		Post Office Box 26110 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87502	
7		Santa Fe, New Mexico 87502	
Enveront Office of Game an Oil Const Departm Departm State Par -State Par -State Par -State Par -State Par -State Par -State Par -State Par	ituent Agencies ment Department State Engineer dd Fish Department ervation Division tent of Agriculture tent of Health rks Division Water Conservation Commission of Geology and Mineral Resources al/County Representative s-at Large	ohone (505) 827-2425 Fax (505) 827-0310	
20	New Mex	ico Water Quality Control Commission Meeting	
21		June 9, 2009	
22		9:00 a.m.	
23		New Mexico State Capitol Building, Rm. 317	
24 25		490 Old Santa Fe Trail	
25 26		Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501	
27	MEMBERS PRESENT:		
28	WEWELST RESERVE.		
29	Jon Goldstein	NMED/Deputy Secretary	
30	Cheryl Bada	State Parks Division	
31	Larry Dominguez	Department of Agriculture	
32	Howard Hutchinson	Soil and Water Conservation Commission	
33	Brad Jones	Oil Conservation Division	
34	Steve Glass	County of Bernalillo, Municipal/County Representative	
35	Doug Bland	Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources	
36	Mike Sloane	Department of Game & Fish	
37	Joseph Chavarria	Member-at-Large	
38	Maxine Goad	Member-at-Large	
39	Edward Vigil	Member-at-Large	
40	MEMBERG ARCENIE		
41	MEMBERS ABSENT:		
42	Cros Lawis	Office of the State Engineer	
43 44	Greg Lewis	Office of the State Engineer	
45	OTHERS PRESENT:		
46	OTHERS I RESERVI.		
4 0	Glenn Saums, NMED/SWQE	Abraham Franklin, NMED/SWQB	
48	Dennis Romero, Esq.	Rick Edelman	
49	Sara Edelman	Gene Turner, DOE	
50	Bill Olson, NMED/GWB	Jeff Ogburn, Taos Pueblo	
51	Scott Fields, Taos Pueblo	Jay Lazarus, Galisteo Geoscience	

66 67	agenda.						
68 69	Action:	Mr. Glass moved Commission approval of the agenda as amended. Mr. Hutchinson seconded. The motion passed					
70 71		unanimously.					
72	The Chair	he Chair welcomed Doug Bland who has been appointed to replace Ms. Johnson as the representative					
73	from the Bureau of Geology and Minerals Resources.						
74	nom the L	raised of Geology and Himelan Resources.					
75 76	Item 3.	Approval of meeting minutes of May 12, 2009.					
77 78	Action:	Mr. Glass moved Commission approval the minutes. Mr. Hutchinson seconded. The motion passed unanimously.					
79		Tutelinison seconded. The motion passed unanimously.					
80	Item 4.	Update on Nonpoint Source Management Program planning					
81		document. Abraham Franklin, NMED/SWQB.					
82							
83		lin explained that the date of presentation of the proposed planning document for					
84	Commission approval was being revised to take place at the Commission's July meeting.						
85	He also noted that the public comment period with respect to that planning document had been						
86	extended t	hrough Friday, May 15, 2009.					
87 88	Thora was	discussion between Mr. Franklin and Commission members regarding the					
89	There was discussion between Mr. Franklin and Commission members regarding the proposed planning document he had presented to the members.						
90	proposed	planning document he had presented to the members.					
91	Item 6.	Continuation of Appeal Petition for Record Review and possible Commission					
92	100111 00	decision in re: WQCC 07-11 (A) Groundwater Discharge Permit No. 1498,					
93		Alta Vista Subdivision, Taos County. Dennis Romero, Esq., for Appellant/					
94		Applicant Alta Vista; Tannis Fox, NMED/OGC; Michael Freebourn, Carol					
95		Richman, Sheila Shepard and Link Summers, pro se Intervenors.					
96							
97 98	The Commission agreed to go into executive session to deliberate this matter.						

Link Summers

52

53

54

555657

58 59

60 61

62 63

64

65

Zachary Shandler, Asst. Atty. Gen.

Roll Call:

Approval of Agenda

The meeting was called to order by Mr. Goldstein at 9:05 a.m.

The Commission administrator took roll and noted a quorum was present.

Mr. Goldstein noted that there had been changes made in today's agenda, Item 5, Petition by Chevron Mining, Inc. for amendments to 70.6.4.900 NMAC and Item 7, the

appeal by Sebestiao Faria of Permit Conditions in re: DP 923, were removed from the

Joyce Medina, NMED

Item 1.

Item 2.

99	Action:	Mr. Sloane moved that the	e Commission go into executive session. Ms. Bada	
100		seconded.		
101				
102		Roll Call Vote:		
103		Mr. Chavarria	yes	
104		Ms. Vigil	yes	
105		Mr. Glass	yes	
106		Ms. Bada	yes	
107		Ms. Goad	yes	
108		Mr. Dominguez	yes	
109		Mr. Sloane	yes	
110		Mr. Bland	abstain	
111		Mr. Jones	yes	
112		Mr. Hutchinson	yes	
113		Mr. Goldstein	yes	
114				
115		The motion passed		
116				
117	The Comm	ission went into executive sea	ssion at 9:15 a.m.	
118				
119	The Comm	ission returned to the public i	meeting at 9:50 a.m.	
120				
121	Action:	Ms. Bada moved that the	Commission return to open session. Mr.	
122		Sloane seconded.		
123				
124		Roll Call Vote:		
125		Mr. Dominguez	yes	
126		Mr. Glass	yes	
127		Ms. Bada	yes	
128		Mr. Jones	yes	
129		Mr. Vigil	yes	
130		Mr. Sloane	yes	
131		Mr. Hutchinson	yes	
132		Mr. Bland	abstain	
133		Ms. Goad	yes	
134		Mr. Chavarria	yes	
135		Mr. Goldstein	yes	
136				
137		The motion passed		
138				
139	Mr. Shandler asked the Chair to acknowledge that only those matters relating to the Appeal			
140	Petition in WQCC 07-11 (A) were discussed during the executive session. Mr. Goldstein			
141	confirmed that only those matters were discussed. Mr. Shandler additionally noted that			
142		Commissioners Sloane, Vigil and Chavarria acknowledged that they had thoroughly familiarized		
143	themselves	with the record in this matter	and were eligible and qualified to vote.	
1 / /				

Action: Mr. Sloane moved that the Commission grant Groundwater Discharge

146		Permit No. 1498 in W	QCC 07-11 (A) with conditions, including advance
147		treatment and also a f	inding of fact that there was a failure to fully
148			cts. Mr. Chavarria seconded.
149			
150		Roll Call Vote:	
151		Mr. Jones	no
152		Ms. Bada	no
153		Mr. Glass	yes
154		Ms. Dominguez	yes
155		Mr. Sloane	yes
156		Mr. Hutchinson	no
157		Ms. Goad	yes
158		Mr. Vigil	yes
159		Mr. Bland	abstained
160		Mr. Chavarria	yes
161		Mr. Goldstein	yes
162			·
163		The motion passed.	
164		•	
165	There was	a brief discussion clarify	ing the Commission's decision.
166		·	
167	Item 7.	Next public meeting:	July 14, 2009, 9:00 a.m. State Capitol Building
168		Room 317, 490 Old Sa	anta Fe Trail, Santa Fe.
169			
170	Item 8.	Other business	
171			
172	None.		
173			
174	Item 9.	Adjournment	
175			
176	Action:	The Chair adjourned	the meeting at 10:10 a.m.
177			
178			
179			
180			
181			
182			Jon Goldstein, Acting Chair