STATE OF NEW MEXICO WATER QUALITY CONTROL COMMISSION

1190 St. Francis Drive, Room N2150 Post Office Box 26110 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87502

Telephone (505) 827-2425 Fax (505) 827-0310



Constituent Agencies

Members-at Large

Environment Department
Office of State Engineer
Game and Fish Department
Oil Conservation Division
Department of Agriculture
Department of Health
State Parks Division
-Soil and Water Conservation Commission
Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources
Municipal/County Representative

New Mexico Water Quality Control Commission Meeting

August 11, 2009 9:00 a.m.

New Mexico State Capitol Building, Rm. 317 490 Old Santa Fe Trail Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Jon Goldstein NMED/Deputy Secretary Cheryl Bada State Parks Division

Larry Dominguez Department of Agriculture

Howard Hutchinson Soil and Water Conservation Commission

Steve Glass County of Bernalillo, Municipal/County Representative

Doug Bland Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources

Mike Sloane Department of Game & Fish Greg Lewis Office of the State Engineer

Heidi Krapfl Department of Health Maxine Goad Member-at-Large Edward Vigil Member-at-Large

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Brad Jones Oil Conservation Division

Joseph Chavarria Member-at-Large

OTHERS PRESENT:

Bill Olson, NMED/GWB
Glenn Saums, NMED/SWQB
Heidi Henderson, NMED/SWQB
Marcie Leavitt, NMED/SWQB

James Hogan, NMED/SWQB
Shelly Drinkard, NMED/SWQB
Adolfo Mendez, NMED/OGC
Jay Lazarus, Galisteo Geo Science

Contessa Archuleta, Gallagher & Kennedy Adrian Terry, Asst. Atty. General Zachary Shandler, Asst. Atty. General Joyce Medina, NMED

The meeting was called to order by Mr. Goldstein at 9:00 a.m.

Item 1. Roll Call:

The Commission administrator took roll and noted a quorum was present.

Item 2. Approval of Agenda

Action: Mr. Glass moved Commission adoption of the Agenda. Mr. Hutchinson seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 3. Approval of the meeting minutes of July 14, 2009.

Two typographical errors were noted.

Action: Mr. Bland moved Commission approval of the July 14, 2009 meeting minutes as amended. Mr. Dominguez seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 4. Change in Dairy Regulation Hearing Officer. Jon Goldstein, NMED/ Deputy Secretary.

Mr. Goldstein noted that in the interests of transparency with respect to the dairy regulation matter, someone else should take on the responsibility of hearing officer in this case. He went on to state that Mr. Glass had agreed to serve as hearing officer.

Action: Mr. Goldstein moved Commission approval of Mr. Glass as Hearing Officer in the dairy regulation matter. Mr. Hutchinson seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 5. Update to the New Mexico Water Quality Management Plan (WQMP) via the Approval of the Final Draft TMDL for the Jemez River Watershed TMDL, San Ysidro to headwaters (excluding waters of the Valle Caldera National Preserve). Shelly Drinkard, NMED/SWQB.

Ms. Drinkard presented the proposed TMDL, followed by a question and answer period. There was discussion with Ms. Drinkard regarding the information as presented in the TMDL. Ms. Drinkard, Marcie Leavitt and James Hogan noted that the Surface Water Quality Bureau was modifying TMDL documents to comply more closely with Commission suggestions with respect to information presentation.

Action: Mr. Glass moved Commission approval of the Final Draft TMDL for the Jemez River Watershed TMDL, San Ysidro to headwaters (excluding waters of the Valle Caldera National Preserve). Mr. Hutchinson

seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 6. Next meeting: September 15, 2009, 9:00 a.m., State Capitol Building Room 317, 490 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501.

Item 7. Other business

Mr. Goldstein suggested that the Commission's October meeting be set on October 20, 2009. The Commission agreed with that suggestion.

Item 8. Adjournment

Action: The Chair adjourned the meeting at 9:40 a.m.

Signature on File

Jon Goldstein, Acting Chair