# STATE OF NEW MEXICO WATER QUALITY CONTROL COMMISSION

1190 St. Francis Drive, Room N2150 Post Office Box 26110 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87502

Telephone (505) 827-2425 Fax (505) 827-0310



## **Constituent Agencies**

Members-at Large

Environment Department
Office of State Engineer
Game and Fish Department
Oil Conservation Division
Department of Agriculture
Department of Health
State Parks Division
Soil and Water Conservation Commission
Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources
Municipal/County Representative

# New Mexico Water Quality Control Commission Meeting October 14, 2008

9:00 a.m.

State Capitol Building Room 317 490 Old Santa Fe Trail Santa Fe, New Mexico 87503

### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

\*Jon Goldstein NMED/Deputy Secretary Cheryl Bada State Parks Division

Greg Lewis Office of the State Engineer Larry Dominguez Department of Agriculture

Peggy Johnson Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources

Steve Glass City of Albuquerque – Municipal/County Representative

Howard Hutchinson Soil and Water Conservation Commission

Mike Sloane Department of Game & Fish

Len Flowers Health Department
Maxine Goad Member-at-Large
Edward Vigil Member-at-Large
Joseph Chavarria Member-at-Large

\*Jim Norton Environment Department

\*Mr. Goldstein was present for Agenda Items 1 through 7.

\*Mr. Norton was present for Agenda Item 8 only.

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Glenn Von Gonten Oil Conservation Division

#### **OTHERS PRESENT:**

Glenn Saums, NMED/SWQB Richard E. Powell, NMED/SWQB

Steve Vernis, LANL Terrill Lemke, LANL Mike Saladan, LANL Paul Bauer, NM Tech

Megan Anderson, WELC Louis Rose, Esq., Montgomery Law Firm

Charles de Saillan, NMED/OGC Sally Malave, Asst. Atty. General

Zachary Shandler, Asst. Atty. General Joyce Medina, NMED

The meeting was called to order by Mr. Goldstein at 9:00 a.m. He then introduced Joseph Chavarria, the Commission's newest member, appointed on October 8, 2008 by Governor Richardson as a member-arlarge.

### Item 1. Roll Call:

The Commission administrator took roll and noted a quorum was present.

Item 2. Approval of Agenda

Action: Mr. Hutchinson moved approval of the agenda. Mr. Glass seconded.

The motion passed unanimously.

Item 3. Approval of meeting minutes of August 11, 2008 and September 8,

2008.

Mr. Glass noted several wording corrections to be made.

Action: Mr. Glass moved to approve both sets of meeting minutes as

revised. Mr. Lewis seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 4. Petition for Review in re: WQCC 08-07 (A), Review of State Certification of

NPDES Permit No.NM00300759. Commission decision regarding NMED's Motion to Dismiss the Petition for Review as well as a Commission decision with respect to the Petition for Review if the motion to dismiss is denied. Louis

Rose, Esq., USDOE and LANS, LLC; Charles de Saillan, NMED/OGC.

The Chair noted that on September 9, 2009, Petitioners LANS, LLC and the USDOE filed an Opposed Motion to Vacate Setting in this matter. On September 10, 2008, the Environment Department filed its Response in Opposition to Motion to Vacate. On September 10, 2008, the Commission Chair signed and filed an Order Denying Petitioners' Motion to Vacate Setting.

After some discussion regarding the documents noted above, the Chair asked the parties to present their respective arguments regarding the Petition for Review and the Motion to Dismiss the Petition for Review.

Mr. de Saillan and Mr. Rose each set forth the respective positions of their clients.

A lengthy discussion ensued among the Commissioners, Mr. de Saillan and Mr. Rose.

Action: Mr. Sloane moved that the Motion to Dismiss the Petition for Review in WQCC 08-07 (A), Review of State Certification of NPDES Permit

No. NM00300759, be granted. Ms. Bada seconded.

The Chair requested a roll call vote.

Roll Call Vote	
Mr. Lewis	yes
Ms. Bada	yes
Mr. Glass	yes
Mr. Dominguez	no
Mr. Sloane	yes
Mr. Hutchinson	no
Ms. Johnson	yes
Ms. Flowers	yes
Ms. Goad	yes
Mr. Vigil	no
Mr. Goldstein	yes

The motion passed.

Item 5. Other Business:

None

Item 6. Next Meeting: November 12, 2008, Room 317 State Capitol Building.

Item 7. Adjournment

Action: The Chair adjourned the public meeting at 10:45 a.m.

Item 8. Resumption of deliberations and possible decision in re: Phelps Dodge Tyrone remand hearing, WQCC 03-12 (A) and WQCC 03-13 (A). Sally Malave, Asst. Atty. General, Commission Counsel.

Signature on File

Jon Goldstein, Acting Chair