# STATE OF NEW MEXICO WATER QUALITY CONTROL COMMISSION

1190 St. Francis Drive, Room N2150 Post Office Box 26110 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87502



# **Constituent Agencies**

Telephone (505) 827-2425 Fax (505) 827-0310

Environment Department
Office of State Engineer
Game and Fish Department
Oil Conservation Division
Department of Agriculture
Department of Health
State Parks Division
Soil and Water Conservation Commission
Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources
Municipal/County Representative
Members-at Large

# New Mexico Water Quality Control Commission Meeting November 12, 2008

9:00 a.m.

State Capitol Building Room 317 490 Old Santa Fe Trail Santa Fe, New Mexico 87503

## **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Jon Goldstein NMED/Deputy Secretary Cheryl Bada State Parks Division

Greg Lewis Office of the State Engineer Larry Dominguez Department of Agriculture

Steve Glass City of Albuquerque – Municipal/County Representative

Howard Hutchinson Soil and Water Conservation Commission

Len FlowersHealth DepartmentMaxine GoadMember-at-LargeEdward VigilMember-at-LargeJoseph ChavarriaMember-at-Large

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Glenn Von Gonten Oil Conservation Division

Peggy Johnson Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources

Mike Sloane Department of Game & Fish

#### **OTHERS PRESENT:**

Glenn Saums, NMED/SWQB Eric Hall

Richard D. Graham Dennis Quintana, NMED/SWQB

Tim McDonough Cathie Eisen

Mike Coffman, NMED/SWQB Nick Ashcroft

Jack Stant Violette Valerio-Hirschfeld, NMED/DWB

Kelly Collins John L. Jones Kit Roush Russell Church Andrew Knight, NMED/OGC Dan Campbell

Robert Gallegos Marie Ortiz, NMED/SWQB

Jay Lazarus Miguel de la Cruz

Matt Holmes Rick Leal

Cindy Huntsman Joyce Medina, NMED

The meeting was called to order by Mr. Goldstein at 9:05 a.m.

### Item 1. Roll Call:

The Commission administrator took roll and noted a quorum was present.

Item 2. Approval of Agenda

Action: Mr. Hutchinson moved approval of the agenda. Mr. Glass seconded.

The motion passed unanimously.

Item 3. Approval of meeting minutes of October 14, 2008.

The Chair noted a correction to be made.

Action: Mr. Hutchinson moved to approve the minutes as amended.

Mr. Glass seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 4. Hearing and possible decision in re: WQCC 07-09 (R), Proposed

Amendments to 20.7.4 NMAC, Utility Operators Advisory Board Certification. Misty Braswell, NMED/OGC; Kit Roush, Utility

**Operators Advisory Board.** 

The hearing in WQCC 07-09 (R) convened at 9:10 a.m. Kathy Townsend Court Reporters transcribed the hearing. The transcript is available for review in the Office of the Water Quality Control Commission Administrator, New Mexico Environment Department, 1190 St. Francis Drive, Runnels Bldg. Room N-2150, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505.

The Chair invited Ms. Cindy Huntsman and Mr. Richard Graham to join the Commission for the hearing in this matter.

The hearing concluded at 10: 35 a.m.

Commission discussion followed.

Action: Mr. Glass (before the hearing was formally closed by the Chair) moved to

amend Department's motion to add a new evaluation criterion as follows:

"#11 Currency of federally-required vulnerability assessments and risk management plans."

Mr Hutchinson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

**Action:** 

Mr. Glass moved that the Commission adopt the regulatory modifications as amended and allow the Department latitude in making minor formatting changes as required for compliance with the State Records Office.

As a friendly amendment, Chair Goldstein noted that the Department had requested that the record remain open for 30 days to allow for the filing of the Albuquerque Journal Affidavits of Publication in this case.

Mr. Hutchinson seconded the amended motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 5. Next Meeting: December 16, 2008, State Capitol Room 317, 490 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, New Mexico. There will be executive sessions of the Commission on December 15 and 17, 2008.

Item 6. Other business

None

Item 7. Adjournment

Action: The Chair adjourned the meeting at 10:35 a.m.

Signature on File

Jon Goldstein, Acting Chair