New Mexico
Environment Department

Contact Information:
(505) 827-2855 MAIN // 1-800-219-6157 (toll free)
Environmental Emergencies:
505-827-9329 (24 hrs)

Ground Water Quality Bureau

Mining Environmental Compliance

The Mining Environmental Compliance Section (MECS) conducts all of the permitting, spill response, abatement and public participation activities for mining facilities in New Mexico pursuant to the Ground and Surface Water Protection Regulations (20.6.2 NMAC) and the Supplemental Permitting Requirements for Copper Mine Facilities (20.6.7 NMAC).  In addition, the MECS participates in the implementation of the New Mexico Mining Act and Non-Coal Mining Regulations by reviewing and commenting on mine permits and closeout plans, coordinating environmental protection requirements at mine sites with the Mining and Minerals Division of the Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department, and providing determinations that environmental standards will be met after closure of New Mexico mining operations.  Currently, the MECS manages over 55 active mining permits.

Current List of Discharge Permits
updated March 15, 2018

This list is updated periodically as new permits are finalized.


Ground and Surface Water Protection and Copper Rule Regulations

20.6.2 NMAC Ground and Surface Water Protection

20.6.7 NMAC – Supplemental Permitting Requirements for Copper Mine Facilities.

20.6.7 NMAC  – PDF Version


Copper Flat (DP-1840) Administrative Record with Associated Index

DP-1840 Index File

DP-1840 Administrative Record


 MECS Staff

Kurt Vollbrecht (Program Manager) 505-660-9420 kurt.vollbrecht@state.nm.us
Keith Ehlert 505-660-9290 keith.ehlert@state.nm.us
Joseph Fox (Albuquerque) 505-660-9060 joseph.fox@state.nm.us
George Llewellyn (Silver City) 575-313-1496 george.llewelyn@state.nm.us
Joseph Marcoline (Taos) 575-758-8808×5 joseph.marcoline@state.nm.us
Anne Maurer 505-660-8878 anne.maurer@state.nm.us
David Mercer (Silver City) 505-372-8545 david.mercer@state.nm.us
Ashlynne Winton 505-660-8926 ashlynne.winton@state.nm.us
Brad Reid 505-372-8533 brad.reid@state.nm.us
Amber Rheubottom 505-660-2379 amber.rheubottom@state.nm.us
Jonathan Beyeler 505-660-8908 jonathon.beyeler@state.nm.us
GWQB Main Phone 505-827-2900