Skip to main content
Contact Information:
(505) 827-2855 MAIN // 1-800-219-6157 (toll free)
Environmental Emergencies:
505-827-9329 (24 hrs)

New Mexico
Environment Department

About NMED



The New Mexico Environment Department (NMED) is the environmental agency for the State of New Mexico. We have over 550 employees throughout our main offices in Santa Fe and 22 district offices state-wide.



Reports and Plans




INFORM citizens and businesses on environmental protection and health and safety requirements.

MONITOR air and water quality and assess land to assure state and federal standards are met.

ISSUE PERMITS to facilities and businesses to ensure operations meet established environmental and health standards.

INSPECT work sites and industrial facilities to ensure they meet environmental laws and protect public and employee health and safety.

ASSIST facilities with compliance requirements of environmental laws and regulations through outreach and technical assistance.

RESOLVE environmental issues that have or could have a direct impact on the health of our state’s residents.



  • Providing clear articulation of our goals, standards, and expectations in a professional manner so that employees and the public may make informed decisions and be actively involved in setting priorities.
  • Promoting environmental awareness through the practice of open and direct communication and sound decision-making by carrying out the mandates and initiatives of the department in a fair and consistent manner.



The department is organized into the the Secretary’s and General Counsel’s offices, Divisions, Bureaus, Programs, field offices, boards, councils, and commissions.


District Map

Contact Sheet


NMED Offices, Divisions, & Programs

NMED Org Chart

Org Chart

Office of the Secretary


Office of General Counsel &
Environmental Policy

  • General Counsel
  • Attorneys & Paralegals
  • Policy Analyst


Administrative Services Division

  • Human Resources Bureau
  • Financial Services Bureau


Office of Information Technology


Resource Protection Division


Water Protection Division


Environmental Protection Division


Boards, Councils, & Commissions




The New Mexico Environment Department was created by the 40th state Legislature in 1991 under the “Department of Environment Act” (Chapter 25). As a regulatory agency, NMED enforces various state regulations and federal laws relating to protection of the environment, resources, and public health and safety.


NMED Leadership

NMED Cabinet Secretary

James C. Kenney

(505) 827-2855


Deputy Secretary

Jennifer J. Pruett

(505) 827-2855

General Counsel

Jennifer Hower picture

Jennifer L. Hower

(505) 222-9550

Communications Director

Maddy Hayden Picture

Maddy J. Hayden

(505) 827-0314

Administrative Services Division

Michelle Desmond picture

Michelle Desmond

(505) 827-2855

Environmental Protection

Sandra Ely picture

Sandra Ely

(505) 827-2855


Resource Protection Division

Stephanie Stringer

(505) 827-2855

Water Protection Division


Coming soon


Office of Information Technology
Chief Information Officer

Mary H. Montoya

(505) 476-3090


Aspens North of Santa Fe


Harold L. Runnels Building // 1190 St. Francis Drive, Suite N4050 // Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505 // tel (800) 219-6157, (505) 827-2855

About Us Contact Us A-Z index Site Map Website Information NM Sunshine Portal