Skip to main content
Contact Information:
(505) 827-2855 MAIN // 1-800-219-6157 (toll free)
Environmental Emergencies:
505-827-9329 (24 hrs)
New Mexico
Environment Department
Surface Water Quality Bureau

Water Quality Standards

New Mexico’s Water Quality Standards, codified at 20.6.4 NMAC, define water quality goals by designating uses for rivers, streams, lakes and other surface waters, setting criteria to protect those uses, and establishing antidegradation provisions to preserve water quality. The Standards are adopted by the Water Quality Control Commission (WQCC), then approved by the United States Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA) under the federal Clean Water Act (CWA). 

Contact  Jennifer Fullam, Standards Coordinator, with any questions about WQS activities.

Current Standards
Proposed Revisions/Amendments

List of all WQS amendments, including Triennial Reviews, UAAs, 
and ONRWs

Other Resources
Regulations New Mexico Water Quality Act NMSA §74-6-1
Federal Clean Water Act
40 CFR Subchapter D Water Programs §130 and§131 
References Use Attainability Analysis (UAA)
Hydrology Protocol
Nutrient thresholds
Sediment thresholds
Aluminum filtration study
Air-water correlation and summary white paper


Quick Contact:

Harold Runnels Building

1190 S. St. Francis Drive, N2050 Santa Fe, New Mexico USA 87505

Phone: (505) 827-0187
Fax: (505) 827-0160

SWQB website liaison

Contact Page

Harold L. Runnels Building // 1190 St. Francis Drive, Suite N4050 // Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505 // tel (800) 219-6157, (505) 827-2855

About Us Contact Us A-Z index Site Map Website Information NM Sunshine Portal