Can't find what you're looking for? Click here to visit the archived NMED site.

2015 8-hour Ozone Nonattainment Area in Sunland Park

On October 1, 2015, the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) revised the 8-hour ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standard, or NAAQS, from 0.075 parts per million (ppm) to 0.070 ppm. (80 FR 65291) In 2016, NMED recommended that EPA designate a portion of Doña Ana County near Sunland Park, NM as nonattainment. Based on 2014-2016 ozone monitoring data, EPA designated the area as a marginal nonattainment area on April 30, 2018. (83 FR 25776) Planning is currently underway to submit to EPA the required State Implementation Plan (SIP) for marginal nonattainment areas and to bring this area back into attainment. Please subscribe to email and text alerts to track progress on SIP development and receive other air quality announcements from the Department.

PM10 Nonattainment Area in Anthony

The State of NM submitted the Anthony PM10 SIP to the regional U.S. EPA headquarters in November 8, 1991. The nonattainment area is bounded by Anthony Quadrangle, Anthony, New Mexico – Texas. SE/4 La Mesa 15′ Quadrangle, N32 00 – W106 30/7.5, Township 26S, Range 3E, Sections 35 and 36 as limited by the New Mexico/Texas State line on the south. A maintenance plan has not been developed at this time. The site is located in Doña Ana County, which submitted a Natural Events Action Plan for PM10 exceedances to the U.S. EPA in December of 2000. The U.S. EPA has not redesignated the State’s PM10 nonattainment area at this time. The EPA has not indicated its plans to do so. Click here to see the Anthony nonattainment plan.

SO2 Maintenance Area in Grant County

This maintenance area is located at the Phelps Dodge Chino Copper Smelter in Grant County. The maintenance area is defined as a 3.5-mile radius region around the smelter. The maintenance area also includes high elevation areas within an 8-mile radius. The state submitted a State Implementation Plan (SIP) to the regional EPA headquarters in August 1978. The Bureau submitted a redesignation plan to the EPA in February of 2003. The redesignation plan was approved by EPA in September 2003. The Grant County SO2 Limited Maintenance Plan was submitted to EPA in November 2013 and was approved by EPA on July 18, 2014.

Air Quality Bureau contacts

Find a list of Air Quality Bureau contacts below:

Air Quality Bureau contacts

Ph: 505-476-4300

Register for email updates hosted for us by GovDelivery.
The registration process will ask for your email address, then take you through your subscription options for various topics as well as setting individual subscriber preferences.

Back to Top