Skip to main content
Contact Information:
(505) 827-2855 MAIN // 1-800-219-6157 (toll free)
Environmental Emergencies:
505-827-9329 (24 hrs)
New Mexico
Environment Department
Solid Waste Bureau

Training


Operator Certification Courses

Course Title Location Dates

Landfill Operator Certification Course

Register

 

McGee Park
41 Road 5568
Farmington
 

March 13 – 16, 2018

Pecos River Village Conference Center
711 Muscatel Drive
Carlsbad
 

September 11 – 14, 2018

Transfer Station Operator Certification Course

Register

Moriarty Civic Center
202 Broadway
Moriarty
 

June 5 – 7, 2018

Ralph Edwards Auditorium Civic Center
400 West 4th Ave
Truth or Consequences

November 6 – 8, 2018

Recycling Facility Operator Certification Course

Register

ENMU-Ruidoso
709 Mechem Drive
Ruidoso

May 8 – 10, 2018

McGee Park
41 Road 5568
Farmington

December 4 – 6, 2018

Compost Facility Operator Certification Course

Register

Albuquerque Fire Academy
11500 Sunset Gardens SW
Albuquerque

April 10 – 12, 2018

Albuquerque Fire Academy
11500 Sunset Gardens SW
Albuquerque

October 16 – 18, 2018

Each of the operator certification courses is worth 24 CEUs towards renewal of any solid waste operator certification.

Students should bring:

  • Pen or pencil
  • Highlighter, sticky notes (recommended)
  • PPE for facility tour (vest and safety boots required)
  • Basic calculator (required for landfill and transfer station exams; cell phones will not be allowed)
  • Ruler or engineering scale (required for landfill exam only)

Students with disabilities, as defined by the Americans with Disabilities Act, may contact Joan M. Snider, Solid Waste Bureau, to request any necessary accommodations at the course location when registering for the course.

For More Information

Contact: Joan M. Snider

Back to Top

Additional Training Opportunities

CEUs for renewal of operator certification are often offered by:


Operator Certification Requirements

Initial

To become a certified operator an individual shall:

  • Complete the appropriate certification training course.
  • Pass an examination approved by the department.
  • Have at least one year of experience in the operation of a facility of the same type as that for which certification is sought.
  • File an application with the department on a form provided by the department.
  • Meet the requirements of the Parental Responsibility Act, NMSA 1978, Sections 40-5A-1 to 40-5A-13 (1998 Cum. Supp.).

Operator certification is valid for 3 years from the date of issuance.

Renewal

Renewal of a certification shall be obtained by submitting an application at least 30 days prior to the expiration date and successfully completing one of the following:

  • An operator certification training course offered by the department or its designated agent; or
  • An alternate training course which has been approved by the department; or
  • 24 hours (CEUs) of course work which has been approved by the department.

For More Information

Contact: William (Bill) Schueler


Check Operator Certification Status

Operators may view their certification status at the Solid Waste Bureau’s SEP database.

Back to Top

Quick Contacts:

Solid Waste Bureau
1190 St. Francis Drive, P.O. Box 5469
Santa Fe, NM 87502
Main Office Phone: 505-827-0197

Harold L. Runnels Building // 1190 St. Francis Drive, Suite N4050 // Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505 // tel (800) 219-6157, (505) 827-2855

About Us Contact Us A-Z index Site Map Website Information NM Sunshine Portal