New Mexico
Environment Department

Contact Information:
(505) 827-2855 MAIN // 1-800-219-6157 (toll free)
Environmental Emergencies:
505-827-9329 (24 hrs)

Radiation Control Bureau

Our mission is to control the beneficial uses of ionizing radiation, while providing for protection against intrinsic hazards that it can pose to workers, the public, and the environment.  The Bureau regulates uses of sources of radioactivity and radiation under the statutory authority of the New Mexico Radiation Control Act (74-3-1 through 74-3-16 NMSA, 1978).

 

COVID-19 policy     https://www.governor.state.nm.us/

Today, the Governor announced that in addition to expanding recently-implemented temporary telework policies, the state government is temporarily reducing some non-critical services to minimize public exposure. As part of the Governor’s directive, New Mexico state agencies are to make adjustments to their operations, including the following actions:

  • The Radiation Control Bureau Santa Fe & Albuquerque offices closed to the public until further notice;
  • The Radiation Radioactive Material License actions will continue to be issued by US Mail during the current operations;
  • The X-Ray Registrations will continue to issue registrations during this period by US Mail during the ongoing operations;
  • The Radiation Protection Inspectors will continue to conduct e-mail, internet, and phone inspections during the current period until further notice;
  • The Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy will continue to issue professional certifications via mail during the ongoing operations until further notice;
  • The Indoor Radon Outreach will continue to provide information and radon kits during the current actions until further notice.

Bureau Chief, Radiation Control Bureau, Santiago Rodriguez, at 505-476-8604 or 505-270-1930. E-mail Santiago.Rodriguez1@state.nm.us

Program Manager RAM, X-Ray machines, and Mammography, Michael Ortiz, at 505-476-8605 or 505-699-0060. E-mail Michael.Ortiz1@state.nm.us

Program Manager, Radiological and Chemical Advocacy, Loretta Valerio (505) 753-7256, or 505-629-9761. E-mail Loretta.Valerio@state.nm.us.
Alternate Daniel Ortiz, (505) 827-2559. E-mail Daniel.ortiz1@state.nm.us.

Program Administrator, Medical Imaging & Radiation Therapy, Stephen Sanchez, 505-476-8633. E-mail. stephen.sanchez@state.nm.us

Program Coordinator, Indoor Radon Outreach, Michael Taylor, 505-476-8608. E-mail Michael.Taylor@state.nm.us

Radioactive Material License (RAM), contact Victor Diaz, at 505-476-8601 or cell phone at 505-231-5736. E-mail victor.diaz@state.nm.us

X-Ray Registration and shielding design review contact James Hesch, at 505-670-4397 or 505-476-8611. E-mail James.Hesch@state.nm.us
Alternate contact Michael Ortiz, 505-476-8605 or 505-699-0060. E-mail Michael.ortiz1@state.nm.us

Radiological Services contact Thomas Collins, at 505-660-9108 or 505-476-8610. E-mail Thomas.collins@state.nm.us

Emergency notifications, incidents, allegations notify Carl Sullivan at 505-231-2054 or 505-222-9519. E-mail carl.sullivan@state.nm.us

Enforcement, incidents, allegations notify Robert Bicknell at 505-469-5362 or 505-476-8602. E-mail Robert.bicknell@state.nm.us

 

This website is intended for the use of the citizens of the State of New Mexico (USA), and the Bureau’s licensees and registrants.  We welcome all suggestions that would improve its function.


NM Register RCB Rule Revisions
New Mexico RCB Rule Revision 


 

CHANGES TO THE RADIOLOGICAL SERVICES PROGRAM


THE NEW MEXICO MEDICAL IMAGING & RADIATION THERAPY PROGRAM (Click Here)


Radon Test Kit   Contact Micheal Taylor   (Click Here)



Advisory Councils

Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy Advisory Council (MIRTAC)

Radiation Technical Advisory Council (RTAC)

Boards and Commissions

Environmental Improvement Board (EIB)

 

(505)476-8600

Main Phone Number

(505)476-8654 FAX

For information regarding this page, contact Carl Sullivan of the Bureau at carl.sullivan@state.nm.us.