The Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy Advisory Council (MIRTAC), established by NMSA 1978, Section 61-14E-5.1 meets to advise the Environmental Improvement Board on the adoption and promulgation of rules, regulations, standards and continuing education requirements related to medical imaging and radiation therapy. Pursuant to the advice and recommendations of the Council, the EIB adopts and promulgates rules, regulations and licensure standards and continuing education requirements that protect public health.

The MIRTAC consists of 11 members who are appointed by the governor, after consultation with the secretary of environment and professional organizations representing medical imaging and radiation therapy, for three-year staggered terms. The governor shall fill any vacancy occurring on the council within 60 days of the vacancy. The replacement appointee shall serve the remainder of the original member’s unexpired term.

The members of the council shall be: (1) six medical imaging professionals licensed by the department, representing each medical imaging modality defined under the Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy Health and Safety Act, including one licensed radiographer and one licensed radiologist assistant; (2) one individual who holds a certificate of limited practice in radiography; (3) three physicians licensed pursuant to NMSA 1978 Section 61-6-1 or 61-10-1 , each of whom represents a different medical specialty, only one of whom shall be a radiologist and at least one of whom shall be from a rural area; and (4) one member of the general public who is not licensed by the department nor a relative of anyone licensed by the department.

The MIRTAC meets at least once per year. Current members are:

  1. Garg, Amit term of service: July 21, 2022 – July 20, 2025
  2. Gerrard, Chandra term of service: July 21, 2022 – July 20, 2025
  3. Ham, Melissa term of service: July 21, 2022 – July 20, 2024
  4. Mayer, James term of service: July 21, 2022 – July 20, 2024
  5. Trujillo, Lynnette term of service: July 21, 2022 – July 20, 2025
  6. Garnand, Victor term of service: January 17, 2023 – January 16, 2026
  7. Roberts, Kathlynn term of service: August 5, 2022 – August 4, 2025
  8. Vasquez, Evelyn term of service: April 19, 2023 – April 18, 2026
  9. Vacant – Physician
  10. Vacant – Physician (Rural)
  11. Vacant – Public Member

Upcoming MIRTAC meetings and associated materials are found on the NMED Events Calendar. Past MIRTAC meeting materials are available on the archived version of our previous website.

On the Docket

For matters currently before boards, commissions and the Environment Department Secretary, visit our Docketed Matters page or the Docketed Matters Archive page

Information about how to join hearings and when they are scheduled is available on the Department's calendar.

Contact Us

Office of Public Facilitation

The OPF staff are present in the Runnels Building (1190 So. St. Francis Drive Santa Fe, NM) from 8 -5 Monday through Friday with limited availability during the noon hour. To make an appointment for in-person viewing of documents please contact:

The Office of Public Facilitation…..please contact staff below:
Pamela Jones at 505-660-4305 ( or

Watch Later

Video recordings of hearings before the Secretary and boards and commissions, as well as boards and commissions meetings, are available on our YouTube channel.

Back to Top