The Storage Tank Committee (STC) established by NMSA 1978, Section 74-6B-4 is an advisory committee operating under the Ground Water Protection Act that reviews corrective action plans for petroleum storage tank leak sites and monthly financial reports for the Corrective Action Fund. The STC makes recommendations to the cabinet secretary of the Environment Department on proposed rules and payments from the Fund. Committee meetings serve as a public forum on a variety of issues related to the state’s program for managing underground and aboveground storage tanks.

STC has seven members. The STC consists of the the Environment Department cabinet secretary or their designee and six members appointed by the governor and from the following groups, with no more than one member from each group: (a) fire protection districts; (b) elected local government officials; (c) wholesalers of motor fuels; (d) independent retailers of motor fuels; (e) individuals knowledgeable about corrective actions in connection with leaking storage tanks; and (f) private citizens or interest groups.

STC members are appointed for three years. Members serve until their successors are appointed. Vacancies occurring in the membership of an appointed member shall be filled by the governor for the remainder of the unexpired term.

The current STC members are:

  1. Goerger, Lorena No term expiration
  2. Briggs, Ryan, City of Farmington
  3. Hodges, Benjamin, Brewer Oil Co. (Wholesaler of Motor Fuels)
  4. Neil, Brent, Kachina Petroleum Equipment Co. (Private Citizen or Interest Group) 
  5. Scarbrough, Jeffrey, Allsups Inc. (Independent Retailer of Motor Fuels)
  6. Vacant Seat (Corrective Action Expert)
  7. Vacant Seat (Local Elected Official)

Upcoming STC meetings and associated materials are found on the NMED Events Calendar. Past MTC meeting materials are available on the archived version of our previous website.

On the Docket

For matters currently before boards, commissions and the Environment Department Secretary, visit our Docketed Matters page or the Docketed Matters Archive page

Information about how to join hearings and when they are scheduled is available on the Department's calendar.

Contact Us

Office of Public Facilitation

The OPF staff are present in the Runnels Building (1190 So. St. Francis Drive Santa Fe, NM) from 8 -5 Monday through Friday with limited availability during the noon hour. To make an appointment for in-person viewing of documents please contact:

The Office of Public Facilitation…..please contact staff below:
Pamela Jones at 505-660-4305 ( or

Watch Later

Video recordings of hearings before the Secretary and boards and commissions, as well as boards and commissions meetings, are available on our YouTube channel.

Back to Top