The Occupational Health and Safety Review Commission (OHSRC) established under NMSA 1978, Section 50-9-9, is composed of three members who are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the state senate. Service is based on training, education and/or experience. One member each must be chosen to reflect the views of labor, industry and of the general public. The governor shall designate one of the members of the OHSRC to serve as chairperson and members serve six-year terms. The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) Bureau issues citations and penalties to employers, and the OHSRC hears appeals of contested citations filed by employers. The Commission meets at the call of the chairperson, typically to discuss pending regulatory and adjudicatory proceedings for the Occupational Health and Safety Bureau.

The current OHSRC members are:

  1. Carter, William Brock, Chair, term expires June 30, 2018
  2. Kokos, Jeffrey – term expires August 1, 2022
  3. Zemke, Isaiah – term expires May 21, 2027

Commission Counsel: Emily Bowen

Upcoming OHSRC meetings and associated materials are found on the NMED Events Calendar. Past OHSRC meeting materials are available on the archived version of our previous website.

OHSRC Meeting

Occupational Health and Safety Review Commission

OSHA Meeting: TBD

Information on how to access meetings is available on the NMED Events Calendar.

Historical agendas and minutes are available on the archived version of the NMED site.

On the Docket

For matters currently before boards, commissions and the Environment Department Secretary, visit our Docketed Matters page or the Docketed Matters Archive page

Information about how to join hearings and when they are scheduled is available on the Department's calendar.

Contact Us

Office of Public Facilitation

The OPF staff are present in the Runnels Building (1190 So. St. Francis Drive Santa Fe, NM) from 8 -5 Monday through Friday with limited availability during the noon hour. To make an appointment for in-person viewing of documents please contact:

The Office of Public Facilitation…..please contact staff below:
Pamela Jones at 505-660-4305 ( or

Watch Later

Video recordings of hearings before the Secretary and boards and commissions, as well as boards and commissions meetings, are available on our YouTube channel.

Back to Top