Menu Close

Boards, Commissions, Councils & Committees

The following boards, commissions, and committees serve in a regulatory role or as technical advisors for programs administered by the New Mexico Environment Department.

Public Participation

Environmental Improvement Board (EIB)

The Board adopts nearly all regulations administered by NMED with the exception of regulations relating to ground water and surface water, which are adopted by the Water Quality Control Commission, below.  The Board also hears appeals of air quality permits issued by NMED.

The EIB is responsible for the promulgation of rules and standards in:

  • Air quality management
  • Food protection
  • Hazardous wastes and petroleum storage tanks
  • Liquid waste
  • Medical radiation, health and safety certification and
  • standards for radiologic technologists
  • Noise control, nuisance abatement, vector control
  • Occupational health and safety
  • Plumbing, drainage, ventilation and sanitation of public buildings
  • Radiation control
  • Sanitation of public swimming pools and public baths
  • Solid waste
  • Water supply

Water Quality Control Commission (WQCC)

Generally, the Commission adopts all regulations and standards administered by NMED relating to ground water or surface water, and hears appeals from the Department’s water-related permitting and enforcement actions.

The commission is the state water pollution control agency for this state for all purposes of the:

The basic authority for water quality management in New Mexico is provided through the State Water Quality Act

Duties and powers of the commission include:

Occupational Health and Safety Review Commission

The OHSRC is a three-member “labor and industrial commission.” The commission chairman is designated by the governor and the OHSRC meets only at the call of the chairman.

Citations and penalties issued to employers by NMED OSHA Bureau may be appealed to the Commission.

Interstate Technology & Regulatory Council  (ITRC)

Various NMED staff participate on the ITRC and the New Mexico council contact resides within the NMED Ground Water Quality Bureau’s Remediation Oversight Section.   ITRC is a public-private coalition working to reduce barriers to the use of innovative environmental technologies that reduce compliance costs and maximize cleanup efficacy.  ITRC website

Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy Advisory Council

The duty of the Council is to advise NMED on medical imaging and radiation therapy. The council is administratively attached to NMED and the Radiation Control Bureau.

Radiation Technical Advisory Council

The duty of the Council to advise NMED and the Environmental Improvement Board on technical matters relating to radiation. The council is administratively attached to NMED and the Radiation Control Bureau.

Storage Tank Committee

The STC is an advisory committee operating under the Ground Water Protection Act and has seven members appointed by the governor.

  • Reviews corrective action plans and monthly financial reports on the Corrective Action Fund.
  • Makes recommendations to the NMED Secretary.

Meetings every other month serve as a public forum on a variety of issues related to the state’s program for managing underground and above ground storage tanks.

Wastewater Technical Advisory Committee (WTAC)

The WTAC consists of five members appointed by the NMED Secretary and is concerned with:

  • Wastewater treatment and disposal technologies for both large- and small-flow domestic
  • Commercial and agricultural wastewater systems

Contact Us

Main Ph: 505-827-2855

Headquarters Location
Harold Runnels Building
1190 St. Francis Dr. Suite N4050
Santa Fe, NM 87505

Back to Top